Thread: Jumping into C++ review - part 1

Jumping into C++ review - part 1

Hi there,

I'm a C++ Noob. I'm fairly competent with Javascript, Python and Java, but had never really gotten into C++.

So while I am traveling abroad this summer I decided to purchase 'Jumping into C++' to finally try and learn it. The digital format is definitely nice since I can keep it on my iPad and don't have to worry about a heavy book taking up space in my backpack.

I'm about half-way through the book and noticed a few things that are not explained well enough, or cases where the example code just wouldn't compile due to typos. I hope this will be useful to the author when they create the next edition.

Disclaimer: as I already mentioned, I am a total beginner when it comes to C++, so If something that I think is wrong is actually correct, please let me know. Also some of these comments are style-related, so just take them as suggestions.

Chapter 1

• Page 44: Style - Pronunciation inconsistency

When mentioning the cout object it says that it is pronounced "C out", while on page 50 (chapter 2) the cin object is said to be pronounced "see in". personally I like "C out" and "C in" better than "see out" and "see in" but it should be consistent one way or the other.

• Page 47: Style - State Farm Example

The state farm example seems fairly forced and awkward. It's also not accessible to people who don't know what state farm is (anyone not living in the US). Also I think the use of a youtube video is ill advised, since those can be taken down without notice, and then you'll have a broken link in the book.

Chapter 2

• Page 50: Style - Pronunciation inconsistency:

​See Pronunciation style note above.

Chapter 5

• Page 74: Code - i not initialized

On line 1 of the example code near the bottom of the page:
    Code:
    int i; // variable declaration and initialization
    while ( i < 10 ) ) // condition