Thread: Command line executable not a KDE executable?

  1. #1
    pronounced 'fib' FillYourBrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,297

    Command line executable not a KDE executable?

    I compiled hello world using g++ and ran it "Konsole" on my cygwin install. Then I tried to click the same app in KDE and instead of running it, kde tried to open it in an editor. Is there something I'm missing about linux? probably

    edit: further investigation seems to show that I have to call "exec" before the executable name in a shell script to click-run something. Is that right?
    Last edited by FillYourBrain; 10-01-2003 at 07:42 AM.
    "You are stupid! You are stupid! Oh, and don't forget, you are STUPID!" - Dexter

  2. #2
    root
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    232
    >Is that right?
    Try asking the man. He knows everything about your system. It depends on what shell you're using for your script, but for the most part exec will terminate the current shell and start a new process in its place. Or, as the man says:
    exec [command [arg ...]]
    Unless command is omitted, the shell process is replaced with the
    specified program (which must be a real program, not a shell
    built-in command or function). Any redirections on the exec com-
    mand are marked as permanent, so that they are not undone when
    the exec command finishes.
    The information given in this message is known to work on FreeBSD 4.8 STABLE.
    *The above statement is false if I was too lazy to test it.*
    Please take note that I am not a technical writer, nor do I care to become one.
    If someone finds a mistake, gleaming error or typo, do me a favor...bite me.
    Don't assume that I'm ever entirely serious or entirely joking.

  3. #3
    still a n00b Jaguar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    187
    Cygwin is a POSIX layer (acting emulator) on Windows system, it doesn't completely comply with Linux. I think you might have to get a real Linux.
    slackware 10.0; kernel 2.6.7
    gcc 3.4.0; glibc 2.3.2; vim editor
    migrating to freebsd 5.4

  4. #4
    pronounced 'fib' FillYourBrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,297
    no, my mandrake linux works the same in this regard. The only reason I use cygwin is to get used to XLib development. I have loads of source code that I'm trying to slowly port and it all needs to continue working on windows. So there is benefit to having them running on the same machine at once.

    The question was one of the KDE environment anyway which is certainly available on cygwin. But never mind. I got it figured out.
    "You are stupid! You are stupid! Oh, and don't forget, you are STUPID!" - Dexter

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 12:57 AM
  2. Loading a DLL that is not in the same directory as the executable
    By starcatcher in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 07:05 AM
  3. CreateProcess with Resource of executable, not the Filename
    By Ktulu in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2006, 01:07 AM
  4. calling an executable from an executable
    By dee in forum C Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-10-2004, 01:32 PM
  5. Altering The Program's Executable?
    By Aidman in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 05:11 AM