Thread: Windows 9.5 Preview

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    the c - side
    Posts
    373

    Windows 9.5 Preview

    Windows 9.5 Preview-win95-jpg

    Windows 9.5 Preview-win95_2-jpg

    Ingredients

    1) Win 95 bought from junk shop for price of chocolate bar
    2) Bochs Emulator

  2. #2
    Programming Wraith GReaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,731
    ok... ... Are you saying you actually paid for it?!
    Devoted my life to programming...

  3. #3
    [](){}(); manasij7479's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    *nullptr
    Posts
    2,657
    Should have opened the "Windows 10 preview" thread from "The Internet" !

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    the c - side
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by GReaper View Post
    ok... ... Are you saying you actually paid for it?!
    And worth every penny!

  5. #5
    Unregistered User Yarin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,158
    I would have opted for the chocolate bar.

  6. #6
    Registered User Alpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    877
    Could you still edit a windows explorer folder with HTML/JavaScript in Windows 95? I'm sure I remember doing that when I was younger, to the great annoyance of my family lol.

    I can't remember what the menu option was called, it might have just been right-click->edit, but it's been a long time.
    WndProc = (2[b] || !(2[b])) ? SufferNobly : TakeArms;

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    the c - side
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by Yarin View Post
    I would have opted for the chocolate bar.
    Philistine!

  8. #8
    (?<!re)tired Mario F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    8,446
    Quote Originally Posted by GReaper View Post
    ok... ... Are you saying you actually paid for it?!
    It did run on DRDOS...
    Originally Posted by brewbuck:
    Reimplementing a large system in another language to get a 25% performance boost is nonsense. It would be cheaper to just get a computer which is 25% faster.

  9. #9
    Registered User Codeplug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,981
    So who else is in this thread is still using XP?

    gg

  10. #10
    (?<!re)tired Mario F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    8,446
    Not actually using, but an old Toshiba laptop of mine that refuses to die, still has it installed. It's actually ironic...
    Originally Posted by brewbuck:
    Reimplementing a large system in another language to get a 25% performance boost is nonsense. It would be cheaper to just get a computer which is 25% faster.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    the c - side
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by Codeplug View Post
    So who else is in this thread is still using XP?

    gg
    I use Wndows 7 and Ubuntu for main programming, and use XP for bits n bobs like Bochs. If it crashes n burns, no big deal!

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4,508
    Quote Originally Posted by Codeplug View Post
    So who else is in this thread is still using XP?

    gg
    Still using XP at work. Though finally there are plans to upgrade "soon" (it's a very small company). We also rely on a few pieces of software from the 90's, so upgrading should prove interesting.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4,552
    Well I have XP loaded in a VM but I can't really say when the last time I actually used it. But I still have a Windows 2000 machine that I still use semi regularly.

    Jim

  14. #14
    Registered User Alpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    877
    I know my stepdad still uses XP. The thing seems to be a virus magnet though, the highest IE version is 8, and that is what he uses to browse with. Still, XP and 7 were my favorite versions. I think XP was the first version I had that did actual multitasking, so it was a pretty big improvement.
    WndProc = (2[b] || !(2[b])) ? SufferNobly : TakeArms;

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 10 Preview
    By Mario F. in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 136
    Last Post: 02-17-2015, 12:23 AM
  2. Windows 8 Developer Preview available tonight
    By SlyMaelstrom in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-14-2011, 09:40 AM
  3. Red Diamond - Little bit of a preview
    By MidnightlyCoder in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2006, 10:00 AM
  4. Print Preview
    By gvector1 in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-26-2003, 11:36 AM
  5. Do you... preview?
    By Cheeze-It in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-09-2001, 04:32 PM