PDA

View Full Version : Should I get Dell?

hdragon
07-17-2007, 08:51 AM
I will be living off campus this year, so i decided to get a laptop, just a for the sake of it :D. I look over dell website and thought they have the monthly payment option. ( If anyone has done it, could u tell me more then). Well, im not sure if i should get a laptop from dell. As far as i know, dell is more expensive, and i wouldnt want to spent too much money on something that i could get it somewhere cheaper.

I was thinking about a gaming laptop, since im majoring in computer science, and i need a strong graphic computer. Any advice would be appreciated.

indigo0086
07-17-2007, 08:55 AM
You need a computer with a nice video card and processor if you're doing game design, but moreso for gaming. I'm doing comp sci and most of the stuff I'm doing (in class at least) doesn't require substantial amount of computing power.

hdragon
07-17-2007, 09:15 AM
Well, i have a desktop already, but bc im living off campus, i wouldnt want to waste time to go back and forth from my place to school. School's computer's graphic is not that great for graphic, so i wouldnt bother to work with it. So many restriction put on the school's computer anyways.

indigo0086
07-17-2007, 09:18 AM
Can't you bring your desktop to your dorm? If you want a gaming pc then you should get one, but having a nice gaming pc and being in comp sci aren't mutually exclusive. I'd just get one because it would last you many years in the future.

hdragon
07-17-2007, 09:21 AM
well, i will bring my comp to my apartment. But i would only spend most of my time in school, instead of going home. The laptop is a secondary tool to work and play.

indigo0086
07-17-2007, 09:28 AM
You could check out Alienware they are specifically designed for games, but dell has a lineup for gaming, and Alienware is kind of expensive. Just make sure you try and get a dual (possibly quad) core pc and you'll be gaming quite well.

abachler
07-17-2007, 09:48 AM