PDA

View Full Version : Green Pixel On My Screen???



(TNT)
01-20-2002, 03:53 PM
Hey,

I have recently spotted a single green pixel on the left had side of my screen. I tried moving my screen horizontally to the right but the pixel didnt move and stayed where it was as the os graphics move to the right leaving the pixel in the black part of the screen that wasnt in use.

Is this somthing to worry about? Could it be a problem with the screen?


Thanks
TNT

Brian
01-20-2002, 04:10 PM
Get a big, powerful magnet, and sit it on top of your monitor.

no, don't do that.

I don't think it's anything to worry about.
You still have another 786431 pixels left.

iain
01-20-2002, 04:17 PM
hit the degauss button

(TNT)
01-20-2002, 04:18 PM
Lol...


I do have a couple of tiny speakers under my screen could they have done it?

Is this peremant damage? Also its an LCD screen if that makes any difference...

Thanks
TNT

(TNT)
01-20-2002, 04:19 PM
The what button?

Brian
01-20-2002, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by (TNT)
Lol...


Is this peremant damage? Also its an LCD screen if that makes any difference...

Thanks
TNT

Ahh. Don't think magnets affect LCD screens.

gnu-ehacks
01-20-2002, 04:21 PM
Try touching the area around the pixel to make it ripple...See if it moves...If it doesn't then it might be something inside your monitor.

iain
01-20-2002, 04:23 PM
could be a broken crystal or a very very small hole in the screen, follow standard procedures.

reboot
try reinstalling the graphics adaptor

Brian
01-20-2002, 04:25 PM
yeah lcd screens are cool, as long as you don't sit on them.

WHY DO THEY MAKE LAPTOPS BLACK? CAMO?

Edge
01-20-2002, 04:25 PM
could be a broken crystal or a very very small hole in the screen, follow standard procedures.

reboot
try reinstalling the graphics adaptor

If that dosen't work there's always the big hammer technique

(TNT)
01-20-2002, 04:37 PM
Hey,


I have tried rubbing it and stuff and it dont go i tried doing all the reset options in the menus. When i look up close it almost looks like a very small wire sticking out of the crystal bit, i know its not a wire though, there is definatly know hole in the screen. Can i fix this myself if not would it cost much to repair.


Im rebuilding my pc tommorow though anyway so if its still there after a format and new OS then i will know that it is a prob with the screen. I think i still have a warrenty on my screen any way.

Thanks
TNT

iain
01-20-2002, 04:38 PM
absolutely - but can i suggest you use the hammer technique as a last resort (after asking the cat to repair it)

laptops always black - not true!
my friend has a cream laptop (although mine is black)

>>CAMO
CAMO??

iain
01-20-2002, 04:39 PM
the wire sticking is out is more than likely part of the wire matrix that charges the crytsals. I had to replace an lcd screen on my laptop - it cost me over 325
!!

Deckard
01-20-2002, 05:09 PM
Originally posted by iain
>>CAMO
CAMO??
Camouflage.

TrojanGekko
01-20-2002, 07:39 PM
That was a common problem with LCD's screens a while back (not sure if it still is). My laptop I picked up three years ago had two blue pixels that stayed blue...sure ........ed me off when i saw them...they just stuck out after that. Apparantly, it results from flaws in making the screen...but because of the cost they are considered within acceptable limits. I complained big time but it got me no where, and the company said that all comp companies follow that standard.

doubleanti
01-21-2002, 12:10 AM
>You still have another 786431 pixels left.

lol...

not for long! muahah, my demo's have eaten at your monitor so slowly [and your eyes] that all will be lost! muahahahaha muahahahahhaha... oh wait, what's that you say? you haven't ran my demos?

[insert ken's wav file here...]

nvoigt
01-21-2002, 01:42 AM
Indeed, some erronous pixels in an LCD display are considered within the limits. I have a single red one somewhere in the left upper quarter. I rarely notice anymore, not a big deal. Up to 5 defefective pixels are consiered inside the limit here.

Drewpee
01-21-2002, 08:06 AM
Just change your desktop color to green. :)

iain
01-21-2002, 08:09 AM
hehe - hes got a point!

i think allowing errors through on a piece of equipment that costs so much.