PDA

View Full Version : How did you learn C programming?

Utopus
06-25-2007, 04:14 AM
My question is, "Is it necessary that one go to school to learn C?"

What are some, or if there is any, requirements to be an expert programmer? Is it just how much effort one put into it..?

I'm asking this because I havn't got any schooling on this matter and I'm now trying to study it on my days off from my work.

So I'd like to get a response from individuals of this site about how they got to this point. Perhaps, a brief history of yourself would be nice. :)

CornedBee
06-25-2007, 04:17 AM
I learned C and C++ just from books, never in school.

Utopus
06-25-2007, 04:19 AM
>I learned C and C++ just from books, never in school.

But did you go to school that teachs you about computer?

zacs7
06-25-2007, 04:21 AM
I learned C by reading a C++ book, and really picking up the pieces ;)

hk_mp5kpdw
06-25-2007, 05:18 AM
I was taught C in a class, everything I know about C++ was self taught from books and forums like this one. You don't need to take a class, just a good book and a place (like this one) where you can ask questions when you get stuck.

Queatrix
06-25-2007, 05:58 AM
I learned from books, forums, online tuts, and lots of example code. And yes, you do have to put alot of effort into it, C(++) isn't easy to learn.

>> But did you go to school that teachs you about computer?
Basic computer operating is totally different than actuall programming, it wouldn't make much of a difference.

vart
06-25-2007, 06:21 AM
Basic computer operating is totally different than actuall programming, it wouldn't make much of a difference.

But CS course can give you some viewing of the programming that is hard to achieve just by studying examples... Programming is not just a code-writing, it is a little bit more there.

Prelude
06-25-2007, 06:25 AM
I learned C from books and experimentation.

CornedBee
06-25-2007, 06:38 AM
But did you go to school that teachs you about computer?