PDA

View Full Version : Are VS2005 Express users getting SP1?



cboard_member
12-20-2006, 08:44 AM
From what I can tell, SP1 hasn't been released for VS2005 Express.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=BB4A75AB-E2D4-4C96-B39D-37BAF6B5B1DC&displaylang=en

Tell me if I'm just reading it wrong.
If I'm right ... well that sucks. I was just about to move from 2003 too.

psychopath
12-20-2006, 08:49 AM
Not reading it wrong, just looking at the wrong page.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=47805785-55ad-4a44-9100-e814286fdf63&displaylang=en

cboard_member
12-20-2006, 08:50 AM
Well you guys know me well enough; I do this sort of thing all the time.
Thankies :)

Mario F.
12-20-2006, 08:53 AM
I'm still a little confused as to what makes you so eery about moving to 2005 Express. I hear no accounts of people having any major problems with it.

There's still no SP1 for the Express editions, no. The problems are relatively minor so far, anyway. To my knowledge theres nothing related to not being able to compile or crashes or anything.

cboard_member
12-20-2006, 08:57 AM
I posted something up a while ago about the IDE stalling (what I was typing wouldn't appear unless I restarted it or left it to "think" for ages) and I think it was perspective who said it's probably IntelliSense updating. Seems a little odd though, unless they made some major change to it since 2003 (which never does this).

Mario F.
12-20-2006, 09:12 AM
I don't use it anymore. But I didn't stop using VS 2005 Express because I had problems with it. I still think it's currently one of the best out there... and it's free. The price-quality ratio is, in my opinion, currently unbeaten.

I stopped using it because I did fall in love with GCC and GDB for no other reason than they just looked cool. As you can see, for no objective reason.

However, these are the things I didn't like about 2005 Express:
- Too big for a C++ IDE and compiler. My RAM gets swamped. I thought it was ridiculous.
- Some little (no biggies) problems with the standards.

And GCC also has its little bad things. If full standard compliance was my only problem I would perhaps be working with Comeau, not GCC.

Had I a better machine and I would have probably keep using it instead of looking for something else. I didn't experience the IDE stalling on me. And the MS Intellisense is in my opinion only seconded to Borland's Code Insight.

VirtualAce
12-21-2006, 01:07 AM
There are major problems with VS 2005 Express and MSVS 2005 Standard. Over 32500 bugs have been reported but fortunately MS has been rapidly addressing these.

laserlight
12-21-2006, 01:21 AM
Not reading it wrong, just looking at the wrong page.
Did a search, and it looks like the the SP1 final (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=7b0b0339-613a-46e6-ab4d-080d4d4a8c4e&DisplayLang=en) for the express editions were released a week ago.

swgh
12-21-2006, 05:23 AM
There are major problems with VS 2005 Express and MSVS 2005 Standard. Over 32500 bugs have been reported but fortunately MS has been rapidly addressing these.

Bubba, if this is the case, when the software was created by MS, why did the QA testers not report the bugs? Was it the fact the application was too large to fully debug? Or was it the case of getting it shipped to the comsumer and making a proffit came first?

Mario F.
12-21-2006, 06:18 AM
> Did a search, and it looks like the the SP1 final for the express editions were released a week ago.

I take back my words. 149Mb of service pack!? Good grief.

SMurf
12-21-2006, 07:42 AM
Chuggy IDEs have been the no. 1 reason why I've stayed away from all post 6.0 versions of Visual C++. :rolleyes:

Does anyone know if it's possible to retrofit the 2005 compiler onto the 6.0 IDE? I like to have my cake and eat it. ;)

CornedBee
12-21-2006, 08:36 AM
It's possible, but it doesn't work very well. Some compiler options have changed, so use the wrong program options and it won't compile.

DavidP
12-21-2006, 09:50 AM
My univeristy is a member of the MSDNAA, and so I was able to get MS Visual Studio 2005 Professional as a download.

When I was installing it, the serial code, instead of being told to me on the website or in a text file of sorts, was simply already auto-loaded into the installer's text box fields that ask for the serial code during the install.

Unfortunately as the installer progressed, something happened during the install that made me restart it (I can't remember exactly what it was...since it was 3 months ago). When I went to restart the install, the serial code wasn't there anymore, and I hadn't written it down!

After checking everywhere for it...it was nowhere to be found...

So I had to resort to VS 2003 Pro instead :(

webmaster
12-21-2006, 04:53 PM
Or was it the case of getting it shipped to the comsumer and making a proffit came first?

What about, "Or did they want to let programmers take advantage of its new features sooner?"