PDA

View Full Version : c++?

l2u
11-14-2006, 04:16 PM
I have a curious question why and when you guys decided to start learning c/c++?
How long did it take to get used to for you? I've been programming in c for about 2 years and C++ a few months..

What other languages do you know and how good?

manutd
11-14-2006, 04:19 PM
C was my first real language. Then I went to C++ as it was the most popular choice and it seemed the wave of the future. It only took me a couple of months to get used to it, but a couple of years to truly understand the little intricacies.

Mario F.
11-14-2006, 04:25 PM
This is probably best moved to the general forum.

I know how to program in Delphi, Visual Basic, VB.Net and some Smalltalk. But have worked with other programming languages throughout my career, and before that my youth. I just don't know how to program in them anymore.

manutd
11-14-2006, 04:26 PM
Yep.

Salem
11-14-2006, 04:30 PM
Moved.

Sentral
11-14-2006, 05:12 PM
I started with Python. I heard of C++ during this time, and wanted to find out more. My relative took some programming courses in college so he gave me some books to get started. I downloaded Bloodshed Dev, and the rest is history! :)

Dark_Phoenix
11-14-2006, 05:34 PM
Olly been programming with C++ for a little less that a year now. Pretty easy to understand, harder to get good at it.

Only other language I have used is Basic, learned that when I was in Jr High but have not used it in several years.

h_howee
11-14-2006, 07:36 PM
Started 2 years ago during the summer vacations
I started c++ because no1 else i knew knows c++ (i know, dumb reason) and i thought it would be easy
same reason why i started any of my other hobbies (addictions)

twomers
11-14-2006, 07:45 PM