PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with simulation

h3ro
10-18-2006, 06:13 AM
Hallo to all, as this is my first post here.

I am currently learning c++ and want to evolve into beeing able to program things like liquid simulations. My problem is where to start and what to do.

I have some basic knowledge about C++, but are far from beeing an expert. So, after knowing the basic, what should I do if I want to do liquids in the end? I know this will not be a one week travle, it will probably take a few years maybe?

I was now thinking of looking into openGL, is that a good idea considering what I want to do? Or is it waste of time? Well, everything I learning is good, but I think you understand what I am meaning.

I have no problem with spending some money on things needed like books. As long as they are good. I am also thinking of studying this next year at university. (Computer graphic science at Teesside, any one know if its good?)

thanks in advance

SlyMaelstrom
10-18-2006, 11:13 AM
I'm not sure what you mean by "liquid simulation". I hope I'm not being ignorant here... do you mean liquid as saying you want some kind of exact simulation or do you mean liquid as in liquid? Are you doing some analytical simulation or a physical simulation. You said OpenGL which is a graphics library so I assume you're looking to draw this simulation. The thing you should be studying, first and foremost, is Physics and probably Calculus which will help you in Physics. As for programming, you can study a graphics library like OpenGL and I would also study algorithm efficiency and programming architecture because simulations usually require fast computation and sometimes a fair amount of memory depending on how detailed this simulation is.

I'd wait for others to respond... I might have misunderstood what you were asking. I also don't know about that college, but there are some people (even moderators) on this forum from England that could probably help you with that.

Salem