PDA

View Full Version : Changing Stereo head unit for 1990 camry



doubleanti
09-04-2006, 07:50 PM
Does anyone have any information with regards to changing your car stereo's head unit? Specifically I have a 1990 camry. Thanks.

I'm sure there are older members that have knowledge about this sort of stuff. Thanks again!

axon
09-04-2006, 08:00 PM
it should be fairly simple as long as the stereo is a standard size, ie rectengular. And I think it is in a car from 1990. The only thing you need to worry about after picking out a new radio is the connection. New radios come with about 25 wires. You then have to buy a coupler that will connect to the one in your car and connect all wires from it to the new stereo. I've installed a few radios; its an hour job or so - depending on how easy or hard it is to take out the old unit.

Mario F.
09-04-2006, 08:35 PM
Just buy one and have it installed for you. That's the best piece of advise for a car stereo. If you want fancy, be fancy with the one you buy for your lounge, not your car. 90% of the time you will be driving it, not listening to it.

VirtualAce
09-04-2006, 09:54 PM
I hate doing car stereos, speakers, wires, amps, etc. I'd rather take apart the engine piece by piece. Interior panels and trim are normally designed to be installed once and that is at the factory. Removing them w/o breaking them is a pain in the arse. A 1990 panel/trim piece would be hard to find since it lies outside of the 10 year normal dealer part support phase for a vehicle.

It should be a simple hookup of wires coming out of the dash using a coupler as has been said. However 1990 is quite an old design and getting to work with a modern system may be a tad harder but not impossible.

System_159
09-05-2006, 08:45 AM
If you really want to install it yourself, first do a search for the steps you actually need to do. There's panel removal, wire cutting/splicing, and then putting everything back together. If you think you'll have any trouble at all(which you probably will, I've installed at least 30 head units and some still give me trouble) get a friend who has installed a few before to help you. If you don't have a friend, have a car stereo shop install it for you but ask if you can watch.

doubleanti
09-08-2006, 03:49 PM
I figured it out, but the wiring is different and instead of soldering and shrinkwrapping it perminantely, I'd rather fashion a converter since the other unit is from a honda. Thanks for your help folks. Anyone know where to get the converters?