PDA

View Full Version : What makes WoW so damn addictive?

Pages : [1] 2

cboard_member
06-19-2006, 09:02 AM
I've never gotten into WoW and I don't intend to. Since I'm a novice game developer I've been doing as much research as I can in various places, but one place I haven't researched is "what keeps gamers coming back for more", in a way.

Since it's a truely massive online RPG and there's a good chance that a sizable group of people here play it, I thought I'd use it as my first case.

Whay makes it so damn addictive? I'm hearing of someone dying while (?) playing it because they starved themselves (or something to that effect). What is it the developers are doing to keep gamers coming back for more (or never leaving in some cases) ?

So, anyone who plays it (or not, I guess), shoot your thoughts into this thread. Me needs to do some gameplay research.

<offtopic>
Muse's Supermassive Black Hole is the best song I've heard all week.
</offtopic>

Quantum1024
06-19-2006, 09:10 AM
The reason they want to make it so addictive is because it's pay to play.

It's so addtictive because of the way the game is structured. There's that next level, that better weapon. Playing with other players adds a kind of realism to the game, making these better levels, weapons etc seem to mean more then in a single player rpg.

SlyMaelstrom
06-19-2006, 10:00 AM
Promise major updates that never come. ;)

Thantos
06-19-2006, 10:11 AM
Someone published a paper on why Everquest was addictive. It was probably close to 4 or 5 years ago.

One of the main reason for the addictive property is that it has multiple levels of random rewards. In a case involving mice, it was found that rewards offered up in a random fashion resulted in the mice preforming the same action more often.

I wasn't able to find it during a quick search but if no one links to it by the time I do find it (much later tonight) I'll link it.