PDA

View Full Version : Amanda...



doubleanti
12-31-2001, 02:09 AM
Here you go... enjoy!!!

SilentStrike
12-31-2001, 02:27 AM
Win2k still a nogo :(

C:\unzipped\doubleanti>d.exe
ERROR : Could not initialize conventional memory.

Hillbillie
12-31-2001, 02:32 AM
I got this error:

LBF address extraction interrupt failed.

:(

Gades
12-31-2001, 09:01 AM
Sorry DA, it doesn't work here neither.

I've got a semi Windows98SE

VirtualAce
12-31-2001, 01:54 PM
That error is saying that DA's code could not map the LFB or linear frame buffer into DJGPP's memory space. Strange that this error is happening since all DA is doing is calling VESA to retrieve the LFB address and using that to map into DJGPP's physical memory space.

DA have you used __djgpp_nearptr_enable()? If you are using near pointers you should use this function first. But I'm sure you are since you have been doing DJGPP much longer than I.

I'll test it on my system - I think it will work because the code I gave you works on my machine and yours so it should work vice-versa.

ggs
12-31-2001, 03:45 PM
a few colors, but mostly just lines. I don't think it displays properly. I get 3 boxes, sort of. a bit of animation, but I can't make out what's supposed to be happening for the life of me.

Cheeze-It
12-31-2001, 07:09 PM
Nuts, still get the same error that I've always
gotten (Could not set mode [3, 112h])...

Oh, you forgot to thank me in your readme.txt.
It's kind of sad. Afterall, I am your motivation,
doubleanti (admit it!).

doubleanti
01-01-2002, 12:45 AM
read the readme.txt and some of your problems might be solved. adjust the brightness' to your screens.

2k cannot work... since you cannot get conventional memory mapping...


You might have problems with using the SVGA modes of your video card under Windows/NT; only standard VGA modes (including mode-X) work. That is because NT doesn't allow arbitrary direct access to the SVGA registers, without which it is impossible to recognize the type of the SVGA and employ its capabilities. For example, a user reported that GRX functions and the MODETEST.EXE program thought that only a standard VGA was installed, whereas he had an S3 card. There is nothing you can do about this feature of Windows/NT; that is the price you pay for the stability and protection you get under this OS (a runaway program that accesses hardware registers can wipe out your disk or wedge the entire system cold). However, I'm told that Windows/NT 4.0 supports DirectX which is a method of accessing screen, audio and other peripherals directly, and the Win32 ports of Allegro and other graphics packages can use it.

sorry guys.................... i can't be everything to everyone................... by george one of you program a DOS emulator for NT and we'll be there together!!!

i'm dl'ing the new DJGPP version as we speak so maybe i'll get you [XP] users on board! :)

http://www.delorie.com/djgpp/v2faq/faq3_3.html try to help me analyze and reanalyze this and maybe we can do it!

mithrandir
01-01-2002, 01:10 AM
>> Um it has no color and I just get some gray lines. (same with behold 5)<<

Same here :(. It loads up, then all I get is some gray lines filling the screen. I take it this isn't what it is supposed to do. I'm using Windows 98.

VirtualAce
01-01-2002, 04:15 AM
Hey DA, think we've got the same problem as with behold. My display is scrambled. You will probably have to do a 565 RGB version for some of us.

(red<<11)+(green<<6)+blue;

Sorry for the trouble.

kooma
01-01-2002, 04:36 AM
Those `things'Ļin the screen keep pulsing and text is ever blurrier than in your homepage. (When I press ESC I get a 0.01 seconds of clear picture but can't make out anything of it.)

> i'm dl'ing the new DJGPP version

I find some aspects in the new version quite odd: first of all ``warning: no newline at the end of the file'' (or smth like that) and make keeps rebuilding _everything_ no matter what (or then it was the wrong date & time in my schools computer).

Unregistered
01-01-2002, 06:29 AM
Wow, when I use it it looks like I'm on drugs. Text changing color, going from blurry to even more blurry, strange colored boxes with lines inside of them flashing around the place, some strange white thing rotating in the center... Whoah! And then theres the dozen "Access Granted!" messages zooming about when I type the password, and "Amanda says hello" everywhere! Man, I'll make that into a screensaver... It'd be the best ever! :)

doubleanti
01-01-2002, 02:15 PM
here bubba... i'll make user options for mode setting in the future, like i did with my other demo, but for some reason i forgot about it when releasing this one... sorry for the inconvience!

DISGUISED
01-02-2002, 05:38 PM
I couldn't get it to work in 2k on my laptop the other day ..but I just tried it on one of my other computers(WinME) and WOW!!! That's really cool. I like it alot.

Little bugs I see though(I know this is a work of art in progress).

Say I just press F1 to add an entry...and I change my mind..and don't type anything at all..escape out...it is still counted as an entry in the statistics section. Maybe you intended it to be that way I don't know. Another thing is that it always finds one Amanda ...Never typed it in any of my entries ..that was a little strange. If I type just one Amanda in an entry then it finds two Amanda(s).

I really like the visuals with all the entries at the bottom of the screen ...but it goes up so far that it fuzzes out the menu after you get a few entries. I was really having to look hard to see my options after that.


NICE!!!....Very creative ...good work.

doubleanti
01-02-2002, 06:03 PM
>finds two Amanda

that's because the first entry [the preset one that has the hello message] includes one... :)

>it is still counted as an entry in the statistics section

the reason i made it that way was because in the past, i had an escape key which would discard the entry... and, lo and behold, i would accidentally press it three quarters down the entry! but! in the newer versions i'll have a more organized procedure for discarding entries.

there are a few known bugs that i am working on, however... one really nasty one is where the entry data gets corrupted, so i suggest you all make backups regularly if you actually use my program. i'll be working on it...

any suggestions on improvements? thanks DISGUISED! :)

DISGUISED
01-02-2002, 06:14 PM
I brought up the task manager(oops close program window(ME) I meant) while running the program..then just canceled it ..windows won't restore the program but instead gives me the ever popular blue screen..and I lose the log.log data file. This is probably my fault for not just restarting the computer..and instead hitting enter to return to windows, but I thought I would mention it anyway.

<< thanks DISGUISED!
My pleasure. This is really cool.:D

doubleanti
01-02-2002, 06:19 PM
this is because i chose to load the file, delete the copy, then rewrite it at shut down from memory...

don't ask me why! i am just a moron! so, make backups! and don't actually use this on a regular basis until i find those bugs! i'll change that... :)

Betazep
01-02-2002, 09:42 PM
>>LBF address extraction interrupt failed.

Yep... same here. What am I doing wrong?

doubleanti
01-02-2002, 11:53 PM
well, nothing... it's just that the interrupt failes for that particular mode... perhaps you should give me your OS / processor / videocard... if any problems result...

Betazep
01-03-2002, 11:17 AM
Ok... shipping immediately :)

doubleanti
01-03-2002, 05:28 PM
LOL... seriously! i need to diagnose my program! my sweet program...

Betazep
01-03-2002, 09:52 PM
>>>my sweet program...

Arrrrg... the suspense is killing me. I wanna see it too!

***Walks off mumbling***

doubleanti
01-04-2002, 12:16 AM
oh, well, you see... i didn't mean to say it like... schweeeet... but just, more like... *sigh* sweet sweet so-and-so... :) and get me your enpho! else i can't help you!

Betazep
01-04-2002, 10:58 AM
what enpho u need?

Win98

Voodoo 3000--3DFX

1024X768

High Color (currently)

doubleanti
01-04-2002, 01:15 PM
if it's 98 second edition, no go... what error do you get at run-time again?

rick barclay
01-05-2002, 01:56 PM
Worked like a charm for me, as you know, DA. I'm just posting
this here to let people know that Amanda works in a dos box running under Win ME. Nvidia GeForce/32 meg of ram.

rick barclay

Betazep
01-06-2002, 12:23 AM
yeah it is 98SE


>>>LBF address extraction interrupt failed


If it works on ME... I will go ahead and install ME on one of my other computers just to see your wonderful software. Can you feeeeeeel the loooove... :)

doubleanti
01-06-2002, 01:36 AM
it works on ME, i feel ya!

VirtualAce
01-06-2002, 06:58 AM
It can also mean that LFB is not supported for your particular video mode. But, I have a Voodoo 3 and it has worked before. DA would not choose a mode that did not support the LFB. You probably tried to run it from within WinZip - it won't work like that. Extract it to a directory and then run it. If the screen is all white with funky lines on it, download his other version for 565 video cards. Voodoo cards use 5 bits for red, 6 bits for green, and 5 bits for blue. Some cards use 555 and some use 565.

DA you can look at your struct that is filled by your call to get the VESA info - the same one you use to extract the LFB address. If you use the red mask bit position, green mask bit position, and blue mask bit position fields in your code, then your video functions will work on all video cards. VESA put that info there so that programmers would not have to release 555 and 565 versions of their code. Let the card tell you what the shift counts are. The entire structure is in your RBIL. It's long, but well worth including in your code. Don't just pass the info off as dummy bytes like a lot of examples do, that info is important.

If you want the structure in DJGPP, let me know and I'll e-mail it to you.

doubleanti
01-06-2002, 03:13 PM
yeah, i'll have to use VESA more formally soon enough. there are many other modes which can be utilized, but i've never bothered to get their attributes formally, which i will soon enough.

Coder
01-13-2002, 05:47 AM
For the Win2K users (of which I'm one) and all other users that had errors due to running under windows :
Get Beehive OS from BumbleB (http://www.bumbleB.org).
It's not much of an OS, it'll make you a boot disk with Extended memory support & standard mouse & CD ROM support.

It still has no sound support, but that should be available in future versions.

Boot with the disk, run amanda, ... enjoy :)

To doubleanti
It's very cool & creative. Congratulations!
I think you should make the menu as a plugin, something you can sell/publish/reuse. Add some customizability (I have absolutely no idea if english has such a word. It's' the best thing I can think of now), and you can .lib it (or switch to ddraw/d3d & .dll it)

Very nice!

BTW : For Win2K users who have old games that run without sound, you can get VDMSound which is an open source project on sourceforge, as far as I recall.
visit www.ntcompatible.com for possible workarounds to run your game/app

mithrandir
01-13-2002, 07:11 AM
Coder, you are a wealth of information!

doubleanti
01-28-2002, 10:33 PM
what else would anyone like to see? i've taken into account the plug-in idea... and it's getting better, but i would like to have added so much that a 6.0 is plausible...

status: dealing with lyfe... perhaps i'll get some programming done...