PDA

View Full Version : It is here!



DavidP
12-17-2001, 04:07 PM
Well, here it is. My RTS engine alpha demo.

http://www.geocities.com/theilkhan/index.html

Read the info on the page before you download it.
Also, once you download it, make SURE to run the EXE in the main directory, not the debug directory, or else none of the graphics will show.

If it does not work at all, which it should, I have tested it on various computers, compile it using Visual C++ 6.0. I have included all source code. Feel free to look at it and comment on my ideas and work.

If you feel like you have the time, take a look at my MINIMAP_DTP class in map.h, and my UNIT_DTP class in unit.h, and give me some ideas. I am still working on my UNIT_DTP class, but my MINIMAP_DTP class should be done, but it is not working for some odd reason. I dont know why. So if you have time, see if you can figure out why.

Hope you enjoy the engine!

-KEN-
12-17-2001, 04:29 PM
Wow, so this is the outcome of what you've been working on for so long...nice! :)

DavidP
12-17-2001, 05:21 PM
okay, Ken told me he was using WinME and it showed up weird on his system. I still dont know whether it is operating system or graphic card specific. But so far it works fine for Win95 and shows up odd for WinME and XP. It might be the fact that I am using DX 6, not 8.

rick barclay
12-17-2001, 05:47 PM
You've overused your bandwidth allotment (figures :( ). I couldn't
get a copy. Maybe you or ken could email me one. If you'd like
I can always post it on flashdadee. We have lots of bandwidth over there. How big is the file? Let me know if you're interested, David.

rick barclay

basilisk
12-17-2001, 05:56 PM
i think i am seeing it very weird - i will try and describe - forgive me if this is what is supposed to be seen.

The top part is green with lots of horizontal lines - there are two numbers at the top saying 1 2 under these is another number which flashes very quickly between 00 and 11 - under that is two more numbers which i think are the starting co-ords saying 100 100. The little men are very indistinct as they are made up of different colour horizontal lines with black in between each line and therefore they are blending in with the lines in the green area.

Under the green area is a blue area which is again lined - there is a number in here which fluctuates rapidly.

btw i am using XP with a geforce graphics card

zen
12-17-2001, 06:27 PM
I get the same results as above in Win2k. Changing the source to run at 1024x768 made display appear normal, but I still get the flashing numbers.

DavidP
12-17-2001, 06:33 PM
thats a new one....

I am using XP, and it doesnt look like that.

I know what the numbers are. They should be there. They are simply debugging information for me to look at. One is the screen coordinate, another is the map coordinate, another is the terrain type, and another is how many milliseconds it takes to draw a frame.

I dont know why the picture is so distorted on yours...Nobody else has gotten that one yet. I am now assuming it is because I am using DX 6...maybe if I move to DX 8 it will be more compatible with XP, 2k, etc.

Yoshi
12-17-2001, 07:05 PM
Cool man. I see a future success on this program if you make it better than this good program. :rolleye:

lightatdawn
12-17-2001, 07:05 PM
Runs fine on Win98 (crappy factory default 4MB ATI Rage Pro 2X AGP graphics card). Also, a note: It appears that your tiles overlay by 1 pixel.

You also noted on your website that it crashes when you walk out of the negative sides of your map... That would be because your accessing a negative element in your map array (this being memory you dont own)... I'm assuming you use an array tho i havent looked. You probably already knew that but i thought i'd say something anyhow.

DavidP
12-17-2001, 10:46 PM
yeah, i've known why it crashes when you go off the left side of the map. yes, i am using arrays.

i just havent put in any code yet to make it so have to stay on the map. the only collision detection is for certain map tiles like water so far.

DavidP
12-18-2001, 09:50 PM
doubleanti was complaining that even though my code had the ability to generate random maps, that function was not available in my demo. So I have uploaded a new demo.

This one generates a new 15x12 random map every time you run it. Enjoy!