PDA

View Full Version : Why is it gibberish?

ober
11-09-2005, 07:07 AM
I consider myself a pretty decent programmer. I know several languages inside and out, and I program for a living. I've even taken 3 or 4 courses in C and C-based concepts in college. Yet, when I look at some of the posts on this board, I'm like "you did what to the who how?"

I think I've just been away from C for too long and never really learned C++ to the point where I can understand the small things about the language. I certainly understand the basics of C, but I really wish some of this stuff didn't just go over my head.

And the thing that really ........es me off is that I'd really like to learn more C++, but I'm too busy concentrating on the other languages I use and want to learn.

I'm really not even sure why I come to this board anymore... I don't actually contribute anything.

/rant

Prelude
11-09-2005, 07:22 AM
>when I look at some of the posts on this board, I'm like "you did what to the who how?"
Get used to it. I consider myself well above average, yet I constantly see code that elicits a "WTF is that!?" response. Then after I work with it for a bit and figure it out, my response changes to "HTF did you figure that out!?".

>I'm really not even sure why I come to this board anymore... I don't actually contribute anything.
You do what you can, when you can, and nobody should expect more than that. It's not like we're paid to post here. ;)

ober
11-09-2005, 08:18 AM
*whew*... glad I'm not the only one. I just feel like I've forgotten EVERYTHING sometimes.

>> It's not like we're paid to post here.
Did you stop getting your checks? ;)

Prelude
11-09-2005, 09:12 AM
>Did you stop getting your checks?
I never got any checks. Alex tricked me into thinking that this forum was strictly voluntary. :(

ober
11-09-2005, 09:18 AM
We'll just see about that :mad:

:: shuffles off to payroll dept ::

adrianxw
11-09-2005, 03:26 PM
Payroll is closed until last Tuesday.

SlyMaelstrom