PDA

View Full Version : Board performance



Salem
10-09-2005, 04:46 AM
The performance of the board has taken a nose dive recently. There are frequent periods where there is no connection at all, and I'm clearing up quite a few double posts from people, where the posts are separated by 10's of minutes (obvious signs of timeouts and repost).

cboard_member
10-09-2005, 05:59 AM
I thought there were some issues. This morning I had to refresh a number of times to get forums to load without a wait of > 3 mins or so. Hopefully this cleanup will increase performance, so I say thanks in advance :)

sand_man
10-09-2005, 06:35 AM
I don't think Salem meant he was cleaning up the board to increase performance. He has deleted double posts because of the timeouts.

7smurfs
10-09-2005, 06:38 AM
I've noticed this at times too, mostly during very early morning times (6-7a.m EST).

Prelude
10-09-2005, 09:37 AM
One of the reasons I don't spend more time here is because the forums are so sluggish. Time for a server upgrade, perhaps?

sean
10-09-2005, 09:41 AM
Maybe there are too many for loops in the PHP code

(yes - I'm kidding - that's a bit of an inside joke for senior members)

JaWiB
10-09-2005, 10:08 AM
I've noticed this as well. Sometimes it's fine, other times it's not worth waiting

sean
10-09-2005, 10:19 AM
This morning it actually seems like CBoard is the only site that IS working for me - I may be logging on at a different time than everybody else who's experiencing problems, but I haven't noticed anything myself.

Queatrix
10-09-2005, 10:49 AM
I have noticed it as well.

B0bDole
10-09-2005, 12:08 PM
Maybe its your ISP's problem, does your ISP use level3 or cogent by any chance?

Mine uses neither and the board has been fine for me.

kermi3
10-09-2005, 12:14 PM
The whole site has been a bit slow. We're working on it.

VirtualAce
10-09-2005, 12:16 PM
I noticed this a lot just yesterday. Forum was so sluggish that I was an idiot and hit refresh and you guessed it, it resulted in a double post. I deleted it though.

My recent post about my lighting problem on the game programming forum took 5 minutes to upload the image and post. A 22.5 kb image and about 15 lines of text. That's terrible.

But I'm glad it's just not on my end because I was checking my processes, spybot, AdAware, and all my other watchdogs to find out what was dogging my system.



Maybe there are too many for loops in the PHP code

(yes - I'm kidding - that's a bit of an inside joke for senior members)


LOL. :D :D :D

Queatrix
10-09-2005, 12:22 PM
Isp?

kermi3
10-09-2005, 12:40 PM
internet service provider?

anonytmouse
10-09-2005, 06:56 PM
I like it when the board is slow. It gives me nostalgia for when we connected to the interent with a 9600bps modem. Ah, good times! :)

jverkoey
10-09-2005, 09:11 PM
Maybe its your ISP's problem, does your ISP use level3 or cogent by any chance?

Mine uses neither and the board has been fine for me.
I don't think it has to do with that, as it's been going really slow way before cogent and level3 got mad at each other about their ISPs.

Frobozz
10-10-2005, 02:43 AM
But I'm glad it's just not on my end because I was checking my processes, spybot, AdAware, and all my other watchdogs to find out what was dogging my system.
Yeah it's definately not any one particular person. It happened to me about 30 minutes ago. Immediately suspecting my ISP, I ran a bandwidth check. 500Kbps. That's like double what it usually is. Definately no problem there.

Also the main site and others were just fine. Just the forums seemed a bit slow. Problem stopped after about ten minutes. ;)

Edit: Also - why am I sitting here? Downloading time. :D