PDA

View Full Version : Visual Studio is speaking German!



PJYelton
09-27-2005, 03:10 PM
Ok, so my nerdy brother-in-law decided to play a prank on me this weekend and somehow converted my copy of Visual Studio 6.0 from english to german. I have no idea how he did it and now hes gone on vacation for two weeks. Anyone know how in the world I get it back to english? Unfortunately I can't just reinstall it since I've lost the CD during one of my recent four apartment moves.

And better yet, any ideas how to get him back?? :D

nvoigt
09-29-2005, 08:30 AM
Good Lord, that's horrible !

And yes, I really mean it. I hate the day when a new Visual Studio is released and we have to install the release version at work, deleting the beta. It means I will get a German version of a product that was fine in English. I won't list the translation mistakes here because they aren't funny if you don't have a pretty good understanding of the German language, but let me assure you, they are worth making screenshots to mail around to your 500 closest buddies.

I have no clue how you can change the language of the editor itself. In the options, you can select the language of your helpfile. Somewhere in Extras->Options->Helpfile.

If you find out how he did it and how you get your language back, let me know. I'd like to go back to the good old days when I had to mentally translate English to German. Translating gibberish to German is much more difficult at times.

white
09-29-2005, 08:49 AM
I really don't know who translates microsoft programs but most of the times the translation is done word by word...take this funny (for me) example...you have in english the phrase

"working in the background" ..sounds ok ...you know what it does.
In greek you have the same phrase translated word by word...and it still has the same meaning but it gives you the following impression

I am an actor and I am in a play in a theatre and at this very moment iam backstage in my dressing room doing something....
:P

PJYelton
09-29-2005, 10:39 AM
Yeah, I'm getting all sorts of fun errors that just boggle my mind, like
Aufloesung der Funktionsueberladung nicht moeglichI have to keep going back and forth with a translator just to compile simple code :(

I'm beginning to think there isn't a simple way to fix it, I think he uninstalled my version and installed the German version from a CD he probably had assuming I could just reinstall again to fix it.

Quantum1024
09-29-2005, 05:44 PM
Maybe this (http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=german+tutorial&meta=) will help :D

Good luck!

nickname_changed
09-30-2005, 12:19 AM
I don't know how to fix it, but if he uses Visual Studio .NET, you can right click any toolbar and hit "Customise..." and rename every menu item. Switch the positions, names and icons for the undo, cut and paste buttons, and all of the compile buttons (replace "Build" with the "Close Solution" command).

Got to love customisability.