PDA

View Full Version : What is your oldest computer?



kawk
09-22-2005, 10:28 AM
Sorry, I have to ask this question: What is the age of your oldest computer that you own?

axon
09-22-2005, 10:47 AM
'93 Packard bell: Pentium I 66 MGHz (i think) and 768 MBs of Hard drive

XSquared
09-22-2005, 12:18 PM
I've got an old Pentium 200MHz lying around. It's got Gentoo on it and is being run as a web server.

Hammer
09-22-2005, 01:42 PM
Up until recently I had an Amiga 500. (http://www.obsoletecomputermuseum.org/amiga500/)
Unfortunately, it stopped working and I had throw it away :(
I bought it in 1988, IIRC.

simtron
09-22-2005, 03:03 PM
AMSTRAD CPC 6128 about '88 i think
the 128 means 128k of memory WOOT :p

PJYelton
09-22-2005, 03:26 PM
I've got my old Apple IIC in my closet which I got in 1985, haven't taken it out in awhile though so I'm not sure if it still works. That little baby taught be programming when I was 7 :D

valis
09-22-2005, 03:39 PM
I've got an old apple IIe (actually my father's) from 1983 (I think), the thing is older than I am and still works

bithub
09-22-2005, 04:05 PM
'93 Packard bell: Pentium I 66 MGHz (i think) and 768 MBs of Hard drive
Does it have the floating point bug?

sean
09-22-2005, 06:03 PM
A 1987-ish 80386 I've been restoring. As soon as I get all the hardware wired together, I plan to install DOS 5.0 on it and use it to treat nostalgia with those old Sierra adventure games.

Sang-drax
09-23-2005, 09:50 AM
What is the age of your oldest computer that you own?

What is the oldest computer you use?
Different questions.

jverkoey
09-23-2005, 11:05 AM
'88, '89 Amiga (complete with a bunch of working games including the original prince of persia)

jverkoey
09-23-2005, 11:06 AM
Up until recently I had an Amiga 500. (http://www.obsoletecomputermuseum.org/amiga500/)
Unfortunately, it stopped working and I had throw it away :(
I bought it in 1988, IIRC.
That's the same one I have I think, mine still works, surprisingly well too.

Govtcheez
09-23-2005, 11:31 AM
A 1987-ish 80386 I've been restoring. As soon as I get all the hardware wired together, I plan to install DOS 5.0 on it and use it to treat nostalgia with those old Sierra adventure games.
You realize there are pretty good DOS emulators out there already, right?

edit: Up until about 2 years ago I used a TRS-80 as a dumb terminal all the time. We had two of them, and they both worked perfectly. Gotta love a PC that has the actually schematics freely available online.

jmgk
09-23-2005, 01:31 PM
hi,

i have a brazilian clone of the CoCo, a 1984 computer using a 6809e processor

its called cp400 color2... i ocasionally turn it on

jmgk

sean
09-23-2005, 04:35 PM
You realize there are pretty good DOS emulators out there already, right?

Yeah, I use DOS-Box, but it's just not the same.

CornedBee
09-24-2005, 03:32 AM
Pentium 200 MMX, Win98 installed and running. (My mother uses it.)

I threw out the 133 firewall/web server about a year ago and replaced it with a shiny (and quiet) AthlonXP 2000.

kawk
09-24-2005, 01:08 PM
I'm actually surprised at how many people have old comps. I've got an old 1986 Zenith/Heath Z-180 laptop that I use regularly. It's got a wopping 640K of RAM, an amazing 720K floppy drive, an an entire 12MB hard drive that doesn't work. I use TC (TurboC) 2.01 on it.

BobMcGee123
09-24-2005, 01:09 PM
I have a register from a Mark 1 era computer, it weighs about 15 lbs and is several feet tall.

kawk
09-24-2005, 01:10 PM
Really? Were you on the Mark 1 dev. team?

BobMcGee123
09-24-2005, 04:06 PM
I said Mark 1 era, I could never pinpoint the exact evolution of what I've got. No, I wasn't on the Mark1 dev team, I'm not that old, considering the Mark1 was a world war 2 era computer, finished just after the second world war actually, designed for computing artilery tables. The register I have was given to me by a university professor friend of mine. It's odd, that an actual Mark1 register (residing at Harvard I believe) would be worth quite a lot of money, but the evolutions of computers immediately after would be worth next to nothing because they didn't represent any sort of profound breakthrough in computing.

adrianxw
09-27-2005, 01:35 AM
Oldest running now is a 233MHz P-II with Win95 on it.

I used to have a lot of old gear, but got rid of most of it during a period where I was moving house alot. I still have a 4k magnetic core memory unit from a Control Data Cyber-605 mainframe, the "toggle panel" from DEC PDP-11 and a similar unit from an IBM 1130. On the desk in front of me is a gold plated wood mounted key used to lock/unlock the front panel command keys of an SEL 32/77 that I managed for far too many years in the '80's.

white
09-27-2005, 03:35 AM
I still have my ATARI 600XT with regular tapes :)

Shogun
09-27-2005, 03:39 AM
Oldest one I have is an "apple Macintosh " as they seem to want to call it, it still works though not that I ever use it....

dwks
09-27-2005, 03:52 PM
We should have a museum.

ober
09-28-2005, 07:26 AM
I have a 400MHz Celeron sitting under my desk that I was going to use as a server, but I never got around to installing an OS on it yet. Maybe one of these days....

xddxogm3
09-29-2005, 11:51 PM
commodore 64. 1982
still works, but i never use it anymore.
paperweight in my crawlspace
wrote my first basic program on it many moons ago.

axon
09-30-2005, 12:01 AM
I have a 400MHz Celeron sitting under my desk that I was going to use as a server, but I never got around to installing an OS on it yet. Maybe one of these days....

I have one too...it's a POS compaq...I hated that computer - had so many problems with it: changed HD twice, burned out a graphics card, the ZIP drive got ******, the USB port didn't awlays work, and finally the CD Drive wouldn't open.... :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

ober
09-30-2005, 05:59 AM
Mine is my wife's old Gateway. It actually still has all the origional hardware (plus an extra HD I put in and some RAM).

rockytriton
09-30-2005, 01:20 PM
A Macintosh performa 400. It came with 4mb RAM, 20mb HD, and I think it was a 12mhz processor. I remember when I bought a CD-ROM drive for it, it cost me 400 bucks!

ajaxthegreater
10-01-2005, 11:38 PM
I have a really old... um wait. I have a laptop (DELL Inspiron 8600) from 2004.

KunoNoOni
10-02-2005, 03:05 AM
Hmm... The oldest computer I have would have to be my Atari 800, I also have 2 Apple ][e and a ][c

anonytmouse
10-02-2005, 05:14 AM
I've got a small portable computer that must be from the early 80s. It is still perfectly useable and has roughly the equivalent functionality of a modern version. It's solar powered and has never needed a hardware or software update. Quite remarkable really.

Frobozz
10-03-2005, 08:48 AM
Wow. I'm beginning to feel a bit old here. From what I've seen, I'm only the second person to have started on the Commodore 64.

Equipped with an amazing ~1.0Mhz processor, 64K of memory, a floppy disk holding about 180K and a harddrive of 20MB (I never found one but have seen them used)! 20MB might not seem like much, but for a 1982 computer you'd probably be able to store every game you bought on it. :D

Sysop_fb
10-03-2005, 09:15 AM
Tandy 1000 still got the printer keyboard and monitor to :)

wart101
10-05-2005, 07:32 AM
i have one of them old bbc computers, piece of junk, i'm a sentamentle idiot so i just can't get rid of it