PDA

View Full Version : Best Uptime



ILoveVectors
07-27-2005, 10:34 PM
Post your best uptime, your current uptime, and
the best uptime you can prove with a screenshot,
(yes i know its easily faked, but hopefully you
will be honest). And i dont want to hear about
i have a computer that sit in the back and does nothing
but it has 14 year uptime on it. I want this from your
personal computer that use use on a regular basis.


Best : 96Days (WinXPPro)
Prove: 90Days (WinXPPro)
Current: 17 Days, 9 Hours, 48 Minutes, 47 Seconds (Win2k3)

XSquared
07-27-2005, 11:08 PM
login as: matt
Password:
Last login: Thu Jul 28 01:03:48 2005 from 192.168.3.10
_____________________________________
/ Professor: "Oh, vanity, thy name is \
\ Professor Farnsworth." /
-------------------------------------
\ ^__^
\ (==)\_______
(__)\ )\/\
||----w |
|| ||
matt@neltharion ~ $ uptime
01:08:04 up 173 days, 7:49, 2 users, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
matt@neltharion ~ $
This is from my web server/coding box. All the coding that I want to do in a Linux environment, I do on this box, so I guess it's regular usage. The best uptime for it is about 250ish days, I think.

major_small
07-28-2005, 04:07 AM
oh god... I have not clue about my best uptime... I suppose not longer than 6 months though... I've had to reboot alot in the past few days (video card problems), but here's my uptime at the moment:
jshao@MCP ~ $ uptime
06:06:45 up 1 day, 16:38, 3 users, load average: 4.67, 3.93, 3.25

Kleid-0
07-28-2005, 04:36 AM
My current one is about 12 hours, and my best one is about 30 days.

ober
07-28-2005, 05:50 AM
I'd say my best was probably close to a month, unless you include a Linux server I ran where I used to work... that thing was up for more than 3 or 4 months before I rebooted it. And I think that was only because I had to replace the battery in the UPS.

My personal computer is in my car at the moment (going to a lan party after work), but it's generally on for about a week at a time. And I shut my work computer down every weekend.

Perspective
07-28-2005, 08:46 AM
hah, beat this!!


$ uptime
10:45:30 up 20 min, 2 users, load average: 0.02, 0.21, 0.26

DrakkenKorin
07-28-2005, 10:24 AM
had to rebuild my work computer b/c it was behaving badly.

Brian
07-28-2005, 10:29 AM
I turn my computer off at night because I'm not using it.

adrianxw
07-28-2005, 10:58 AM
Since many OS patches, AV updates, etc. require a reboot, I guess my machine is rebooted about once every 2-3 weeks.

>>> I turn my computer off at night because I'm not using it.

You could run some distributed computing projects on it at night. Even before I had the web server on here, the machine ran 24/7 crunching work units from DC projects.

http://boinc.berkeley.edu/

ober
07-28-2005, 11:04 AM
I turn my computer off at night because I'm not using it.
Echo Adrian... but you could also help us with FAH!

no-one
07-28-2005, 11:12 AM
currently:

5 Days, 20 Hours, 30 Minutes, 52 Seconds

i've done more than 2 weeks... but i restart for many reasons, and then i dont really care about up time...

yeah and i dont have to prove anything... cause im special.... in the head.

mrafcho001
07-28-2005, 11:25 AM
Just took this screen shot, i restarted 2x this morning, but i got it...

gcn_zelda
07-28-2005, 01:14 PM
Yeah, I have no idea how to check my uptime, but I'm pretty sure it's been only like 25 minutes or something like that :P

Kleid-0
07-28-2005, 03:38 PM
I turn my computer off at night because I'm not using it. I think I should do that too lol :[. I mean I used to keep my computer on at night to download stuff, but now it just sits there at night kind of reminding how good my logic skills are in real life :[..thanks Brian now my day is ruined!

Brian
07-28-2005, 03:39 PM
Echo Adrian... but you could also help us with FAH!

Yeah, but it's in my bedroom and is the whir of the case fan is distracting.

ILoveVectors
07-28-2005, 04:02 PM
the computer is in my bedroom also, and i have
3 80mm and 3 120mm fans, not to mention the other fans
on proc, chipset, vid card.

mine is very loud but i cant seem to sleep with it off,
feel liek im missing something, but it usually doing
something whether im around or not, so on is good.

major_small
07-28-2005, 08:56 PM
compared to the fan in my window, the computers are dead silent... but then again I don't have the fans turned all the way up on my case (even then it'd be quiet)...

here's my case: http://www.thermaltake.com/xaserCase/xaser3/v1000d.htm (7 80mm fans)

Kleid-0
07-28-2005, 09:44 PM
Jeez you guys have a lot of fans! Why so many fans? You guys overclock a lot?

ILoveVectors
07-28-2005, 09:46 PM
i dont normally overclock alot, but when you have alot
of hard drives they will raise the temp of your box alot,
so the fans help keep the airflow continous.

close my bedroom door, for 5 minute then go back in the room
it will be 100F when you return.

Kleid-0
07-28-2005, 09:49 PM
Hmmm I've always wondered what you do when you have more than 2 hard drives in a case. Because in my case there is only room for 2 hard drives. I'm guessing you guys use SCSI hard drives? Do you have to take the side off of the case to give the hard drives more room?

ILoveVectors
07-28-2005, 10:07 PM
lol no my case has room for 6 hard drives and 4 optical drives,
and a little thing called raid, lets you have more hard drives.
i suppose you could get a addon card to for them, but
when i bought my motherboard raid was a feature i had to have.

Perspective
07-28-2005, 10:20 PM
>>and a little thing called raid, lets you have more hard drives.

redundant hard drives... I don't see the benefit of having that in a personal computer though (?)

Deckard
07-29-2005, 06:04 AM
I believe we have a system at over 400 days, but I happened to be on this box at the moment.

major_small
07-29-2005, 06:12 AM
redundant hard drives... I don't see the benefit of having that in a personal computer though (?)for the same reason as having them in a server? I'd use it...

my system can hold 8 3.5 (HDD) drives, and 4 5.25 (CD) drives... atm, I have four HD's, only two connected to the mobo at a time - I use the other two for backing up data (I clone the drives)

Jaqui
07-29-2005, 06:35 AM
uptime.. best I has was around 18 month. ( webserver )

right now, a few hours.
constantly rebooting into different distros for checking compile on major project.

ILoveVectors
07-29-2005, 09:17 AM
>>and a little thing called raid, lets you have more hard drives.

redundant hard drives... I don't see the benefit of having that in a personal computer though (?)


just because you use raid, doesnt mean you have to use
it in a raid configuration, you can just use it like normal ide.