PDA

View Full Version : Cdq?



Glirk Dient
06-23-2005, 07:14 PM
I just got a new CD today. I pop it into my comp and some nifty program starts up. "Oh cool" I figure...but after looking at it I realized it was just the bonus material. Hmm, that's not what I want. I closed that and explored the CD some...I couldn't even find music to play. WTF m8. I stuck it in a CD player to make sure it had music...somewhere, and it did. I looked thoroughly through the CD and the program that started up. No luck. I think I narrowed the problem down. I think all the MP3s are compressed into a .CDQ file, and I have no idea how to get them out of that cage, nor how to even play them. Anyone have any solutions?

B0bDole
06-23-2005, 07:28 PM
first of all they would be wav's so they play in a cd player, second of all i believe this is some security measure so people "can't" rip music onto their computer and send to others via p2p et al.

There's probably a way around this...

If you want to just listen to them on your computers sound system, make sure you have an audio cable connected from your cdrom to you sound card and then simply press the play button on the cdrom. (if it has one, otherwise i think it starts playing automatically)

Glirk Dient
06-23-2005, 07:31 PM
Yep, it has the audio cable plugged in. I can also play every othher CD I have, just this is the only one that has the all in a .CDQ.

NVM...Windows media player was able to do the job...better than winamp or that quicktime crap(which was suggested and ON the CD).

I am also able to burn every track, wow windows media player is better than I thought hah.

VOX
06-23-2005, 08:03 PM
Just out of curiosity, what CD was it? I had a similar problem.

Glirk Dient
06-23-2005, 08:09 PM
Trust Comapy - The Lonely Position of Neutral

I ordered it used from amazon.com...when I first saw no music...thought I got jipped and was given the bonus material CD.

VOX
06-23-2005, 09:27 PM
I had the exact same problem on a linkin park CD. I went to copy music but, ah, there's nothing there! I just used WMP like you did.

Glirk Dient
06-24-2005, 09:54 AM
Kind of funny how they try to copyright it like that, but it only makes it a bit harder to get the music, and of course you can rip it all to your harddrive as well.

SMurf
06-24-2005, 10:38 AM
I'm also reasonably certain that these methods are transparent to Linux (A CD I have that is marked "Copy Protected" and stutters under Windows plays fine under Debian).

Guess the RIAA wants us all to switch. :cool: