PDA

View Full Version : Uploading exe's



VirtualAce
05-20-2005, 07:03 AM
I know why the board does not allow the uploading of exe's but perhaps we could use some type of built-in virus scanner so that we could do just that.

There are times when I do not want to reveal the source code but want to allow some people to test the program. Given all the work that goes into programs and games I find nothing wrong with keeping the source code and/or releasing it when and how you desire.

I realize the board is about sharing and education, but truthfully, how many people are really going to learn that much from a complete program that does much much more than play tic tac toe or simply print crap on the screen? Probably not many.

For instance if some of us have engines and we want people to test out certain aspects, it's not fair to force us to release the entire source for the engine just so they can compile it on their system.

Given recent experiences with game projects I simply do not trust people with my code because they may use it to steal graphics from known games and create their 'own' game even though they stole everything from the sound to the graphics. That is not what I design my engines for and is not what others on the game programming board design them for.

Source code for a DirectX game will not help any newcomers to DirectX because the framework is so simple that you must write your own classes and/or framework code just to get it to run. All of this is quite overwhelming.

So far I've had some people add code willy nilly to my engine and then wonder why it doesn't work right, they have stolen graphics from another game and attempted to use those with my framework, and they have attempted to alter the source just a bit and claim it as their own.

It's unfortunate that some people are as lazy as this but because of them it has forced me to be a lot more protective of my source.

I would appreciate it if we could perhaps explore ways to allow us to upload complete programs....w/o the source. If it's not possible I understand.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: This probably applies more to Win32 programs and MFC programs since it is extremely rare that any DirectX program would meet the board's upload limits.

ober
05-20-2005, 07:11 AM
Bubba, I really don't see this happening, so the only thing I can suggest is to either purchase some sort of web hosting and host the files yourself, and link to them from here. And if you want, I'd be happy to host the files for you and give you your own ftp login.

EDIT: and if you join ES, you could just host your stuff in the members area. ;) http://forums.entropysink.com

VirtualAce
05-20-2005, 07:14 AM
Heh. Nice shameless plug there ober. :)

I'll look into it and thanks for offering. I'll definitely take it into consideration.

ober
05-20-2005, 07:18 AM
Couldn't help myself ;) But it could help you :)

adrianxw
05-20-2005, 08:42 AM
>>> could use some type of built-in virus scanner

Couldn't be done Bubba.

Sure, if someone was to just upload a ready made virus that a scanner would see the keys for. If, however, someone writes their own malicious .exe to delete files, or format disks, how would a virus scanner recognise it?

If you saw a .exe here, which went past your AV software, would you happily run it?

nickname_changed
05-20-2005, 09:12 AM
Can't yall zip yer files 'afor uploadin 'em?!

E-dit: And if yall can't zip yer files a-first, can't yall rename the execudebles to the pngs or the whatevers and then be all uploadin' 'em?

PJYelton
05-20-2005, 09:19 AM
Board doesn't let you upload zips anymore either.

CornedBee
05-20-2005, 10:34 AM
You can still rename the files to bmp or something.

Not that I would ever execute anything from a board...

SMurf
05-20-2005, 01:03 PM
Seriously, just get some space somewhere. Do you want your programs to be archived here forever more (Chewing up space that could've been used to discuss the virtues of ES, for example ;))?

Even if you don't think you'd use space, get some and play with PHP when taking breaks. You'll suddenly find a use for it (Logging downloads, only allowing certain people to touch your stuff, etc.)

major_small
05-20-2005, 08:42 PM
I think the board's filesize limit is too small for most .exe's, so renaming them to .??? will probably not work, with the exception of small programs... I think... maybe...?