PDA

View Full Version : ARGH! (argc and argv too!) HD Space!!!



DavidP
12-04-2001, 08:08 PM
Somebody explain this:

Starting point HD space = 2 GB
Windows likes to lie and makes it 1 GB
Deletion of almost every game makes it go back to 2 GB
Installation of XP makes HD space go to 800 MB, which then gradually reduces to between 100 and 300 MB, even though nothing is being installed, and wavers between those points every day, never being static.

Is accurately reporting HD space something MS will never get right?

gnu-ehacks
12-04-2001, 08:39 PM
Well first of all, Windows operating systems tend to be very large. I'm not sure if Windows uses this, but it might also be automatically allocated swap space.

Hmm...I dunno, could be anything. :D

Betazep
12-04-2001, 10:25 PM
That is a really good likelyhood. Manage your own swap size... but make sure you set it big enough.... you can do it under Properties--Performance

Yoshi
12-04-2001, 10:50 PM
Windows uses a lot of memory resources as well as the processor. We call it the "mem eater"
----------------------
Engineer223

doubleanti
12-04-2001, 11:22 PM
yes, it does seem a bit [!] exaggerated... did you do a really clean install? have you kept everything under wraps? close eye? how long have you since your last format? etc...

oskilian
12-04-2001, 11:34 PM
first: it's not called swap space, it's called Virtual Memory.

second: virtual memory doesn't make windows report lower HD usage, it is mostly caused by dirty-shutdowns, don't ask me why, but I'm sure it's caused by that

third: Windows is not big!, it takes 1 GB, while Linux may easily take 5GB PLUS 2GB swap space, but you can always have more.

Oskilian

Yoshi
12-04-2001, 11:37 PM
Linux only takes about 750 mb, do you actually own a Linux OS?
----------------------------
Engineer223

oskilian
12-04-2001, 11:45 PM
Have you ever installed Linux with Sources?

Oskilian

doubleanti
12-04-2001, 11:51 PM
ouch, now that's a lot... and i can't see how...

Betazep
12-05-2001, 12:56 AM
>>>first: it's not called swap space, it's called Virtual Memory.

Whatever... it is the same thing. Strike one.

>>>second: virtual memory doesn't make windows report lower HD usage, it is mostly caused by dirty-shutdowns, don't ask me why, but I'm sure it's caused by that

Virtual memory does take HD space, period. 'Dirty Shutdowns'... is that the technical term. Foul tip. Strike two.

>>>third: Windows is not big!, it takes 1 GB, while Linux may easily take 5GB PLUS 2GB swap space, but you can always have more.

Windows as an OS is a bigger install than Linux as an OS. You can't say... "well if you install linux with sources.... blah blah blah." That is irrelevant. The swap space in Linux can be whatever size you want. I use 128Mb (I don't know where the hell you get 2G). My windows install was 1.4Gb. Three strikes... you're out.

Fourth... you couldn't be more wrong, but I am sure you will defend yourself till the bitter end.

The V.
12-05-2001, 01:15 AM
Well, 2 GB is rather little, considering how space-intensive most things tend to be these days.

Consider simply getting a bigger drive. I've got 80 GB total now, and it hardly cost much at all. 45 GB drives sell for $90-95 US. I just got a 60 GB drive for $110.

Betazep
12-05-2001, 01:23 AM
Well if he is only using a 2G drive, his MB might not support drives of that size.

What I would do is set my swap (I will call it whatever the hell I want to) to 1Mb bigger than the available ram.

VM/swap does register on your HD report for remaining space. I just verified.

(Although, you may be talking about actual HD size and not remaining space... you need to clarify)

Also, run scandisk....

nvoigt
12-05-2001, 01:28 AM
Get a bigger HD. For installing a system nowadays, I wouldn't even start below 4GB + additional space for games and data.

Windows + Office + Visual Studio alone take up the first 3.5G. Additional Tools take up another 500M. You rarely see a game that uses less than 500M and you need to store your data somewhere, too.

Betazep
12-05-2001, 01:36 AM
>>>Well, 2 GB is rather little,

LOL. I have a 500Mb drive in my 486/100. To that little drive, 2 gigs is a monster!!! :D

nvoigt
12-05-2001, 04:05 AM
>LOL. I have a 500Mb drive in my 486/100

But you don't install XP on that fellow, do you *g*