PDA

View Full Version : The Moral Delima

Jeremy G
04-14-2005, 08:55 PM
What happens when you post on this forum asking for some one to do your homework for you?

You get flamed

I've flamed such people, and I believe you should "DYOFH" or do your own -------ing homework.

That being said, some one IM'd asking me to code them a program for Monies. It is as I suspected, and admitted right away to be their home work.

As a coder, I take jobs coding. Is it it right or wrong to "take a job" doing some ones home work??

Discuss.

ps: If you're wondering, I happen to be "Working" right now. I never said I wasn't a hypocrit.

Jeremy G
04-14-2005, 09:01 PM
Also, what if during the coding process you add detective hints into the code insinuating that this code was not written by the individual turning it in.

Say, you know this individual has no experience with C++, and indeed most of the class does not. But you have throw backs to c++ ideas in your c code.

Say, like my bool definition

typedef enum { false = 0, true = 1 } bool;

Or macro's that "simulate" c++ functionality like say my new macro

#define new(c) malloc( sizeof(c) )
#define bnew(c) bTreeNodeI( new(c) ) /*/ uses a constructor */

It's kinda like encouraging poetic justice. Dirty on my part, but rightous big picture wise....

jverkoey
04-14-2005, 09:06 PM
Those would be called Easter Eggs, I believe.

But basically, the general concensus you're going to get here is, no, doing another person's homework is not ok.

This is much like normal subjects in school. Having someone do your homework for you will do nothing for you in the end and will have just been a waste of both people's time.

Jeremy G
04-14-2005, 09:12 PM
Those would be called Easter Eggs, I believe.

But basically, the general concensus you're going to get here is, no, doing another person's homework is not ok.