PDA

View Full Version : Folding@Home Cboard team?



Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

jverkoey
03-23-2005, 11:15 PM
Anyone want to join up with me on the Folding@Home program and start a cboard team? I've almost got one complete WU finished, I'm at 1100/2500. Team #43476.

For those who don't know what Folding is, more info can be found here:
http://folding.stanford.edu/

RoD
03-23-2005, 11:21 PM
Didnt we try this before?

jverkoey
03-23-2005, 11:33 PM
Yah, looks like you guys did, before I got here though.
http://cboard.cprogramming.com/showthread.php?t=25407&highlight=folding%40home

Didn't realize you'd tried it before.

Well, if people still want to do it, feel free to join up, no obligations or anything.

RoD
03-24-2005, 12:12 AM
I'll sign up.

adrianxw
03-24-2005, 12:54 AM
Switch to BOINC, you can run several different projects at the same time. I run all of the BOINC enabled projects available, (although LHC is not accepting new members at the moment).

http://einstein.phys.uwm.edu/
http://climateapps2.oucs.ox.ac.uk/cpdnboinc/index.php
http://lhcathome.cern.ch/
http://predictor.scripps.edu/index.php
http://setiweb.ssl.berkeley.edu/

Note, classic Seti@Home switched to BOINC last summer and the old system will be closing in about a month.

ober
04-04-2005, 01:45 PM
BAH... BOINC only works on star crap... I'd rather put my pc computing time towards something worth it like finding cures for diseases.

By the way, I join the FAH cprog team and already completed 2 units.

RoD
04-04-2005, 04:42 PM
I forgot to turn mine on after i played AA the other day, sorry lol.

Brain Cell
04-04-2005, 05:14 PM
how much of the CPU does it consume while its running?

major_small
04-04-2005, 05:42 PM
anybody part of any whatpulse (http://www.whatpulse.org/) teams? I am, but was wondering if anybody wanted to start a Cboard team...

edit: I'm in on folding - it's looking for something actually worth looking for, and you can control how much of your CPU it's using.

RoD
04-04-2005, 06:31 PM
how much of the CPU does it consume while its running?

thats up to you

jverkoey
04-04-2005, 07:01 PM
Check my sig for up-to-date scores.

major_small
04-04-2005, 11:23 PM
BAH... BOINC only works on star crap... I'd rather put my pc computing time towards something worth it like finding cures for diseases.

By the way, I join the FAH cprog team and already completed 2 units.
maybe using BOINC may be possible soon: http://forum.folding-community.org/viewtopic.php?t=11782

prog-bman
04-04-2005, 11:40 PM
So you just run a program to help out research?

major_small
04-04-2005, 11:59 PM
yeah, you've never heard of distributed computing (http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&lr=&safe=off&q=define%3Adistributed+computing&btnG=Search)?

jverkoey
04-05-2005, 10:15 AM
Our team's doing pretty good so far, I've got 3 puters running the program and kasten's got 2 running it, and so far we've processed 16 work units...we need more cboarders to join!

sean
04-05-2005, 10:33 AM
I'm on board, but I don't have much horsepower to contribute.

Brain Cell
04-05-2005, 10:39 AM
I'm on board, but I don't have much horsepower to contribute.They need your CPU , not your car's engine ;)

ober
04-05-2005, 10:47 AM
I think I'll install it on my wife's computer tonite.

major_small
04-05-2005, 10:53 AM
They need your CPU , not your car's engine ;)
damn... I was trying to figure out how to install on my lawnmower... you mean that dusty box in the corner of my room that I just decided to get away from?


yeah, I'm onboard too, but have the same situation... I'm about 34.25 frames into my first work unit.

adrianxw
04-05-2005, 12:58 PM
>>> BOINC only works on star crap

Err, nope, you like folding proteins?

http://predictor.scripps.edu/index.php

jverkoey
04-05-2005, 04:13 PM
Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly does predicting proteins do?

MadCow257
04-05-2005, 04:34 PM
http://chemistry.umeche.maine.edu/CHY431/Predict1.html

GanglyLamb
04-05-2005, 05:00 PM
I joined as well, since its doing something usefull when im not doing anything i dont bother.

MadCow257
04-05-2005, 06:03 PM
I joined, but it doesn't show me on the team page yet, do I have to finish 1 whole thing before I show up?

JaWiB
04-05-2005, 06:08 PM
I joined too, and I have about a day left for my first WU (151/400). I just have to remember not to log off when I leave the computer :)

MadCow257
04-05-2005, 06:14 PM
danggg... my computers must be old
6/400 for my first computer and
0/2500 for my other one

Hmmm, I think I'll add my good computer to the network later :)

alphaoide
04-06-2005, 01:37 PM
danggg... my computers must be old
6/400 for my first computer and
0/2500 for my other one

Hmmm, I think I'll add my good computer to the network later :)

What's the meaning of 400 and 2500 up there? Is it like the WU size? Mine both 2500 for desktop PC pentium 2.8ghz and laptop duron 1.0ghz, with the same configuration (the default).

ober
04-06-2005, 01:42 PM
I've run about 5 or 6 now and they've come in a variety of sizes.

GanglyLamb
04-06-2005, 04:18 PM
[17:07:02] Client-core communications error: ERROR 0x1
[17:07:02] Deleting current work unit & continuing...


I dont know why but i always get this error when i off my computer, manually shutting the program results in the same error in the log file.

Is there any page where we can check the meaning of these errors ?
(itīs not in their faq though, unless i overlooked it ...)

cerin
04-06-2005, 04:50 PM
I just started it. Which side of the bar where you configure CPU usage is 100%?
How long does a frame take for you guys? For me its about 16 min

alphaoide
04-06-2005, 05:55 PM
I just started it. Which side of the bar where you configure CPU usage is 100%?
How long does a frame take for you guys? For me its about 16 min

Laptop duron 1.0ghz 6m:53s/frame
Desktop pentium4 2.8ghz 1m:12s/frame

Both CPU slide bar set to the rightmost; laptop's task manager reports 100% CPU usage, desktop 50%.

jverkoey
04-06-2005, 09:23 PM
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ - 1 min 22s
not sure about my other two puters, but this is my fastest one. I'm currently at 2025 out of 2500 for this work unit.

cerin
04-06-2005, 10:19 PM
?! One frame is 16 min for me on 100% usage

major_small
04-07-2005, 01:26 AM
yeah, one work unit takes me about 30 minutes on 40%

what work units are you working on... mine is p1132_l939_k12m_355k

find out what you're really working on here (http://vspx27.stanford.edu/psummary.html) includes deadlines and a pretty picture (if you click description), among other things.

ober
04-07-2005, 07:54 AM
I have my P4 3.4GHz at 100% and my wife's P4 2.4GHz at about 80%... Mine takes about half the time hers does for a frame, but I haven't looked to see what % of the CPU is actualy being used. And I put both of mine under the same name.

MadCow257
04-07-2005, 08:01 PM
?! One frame is 16 min for me on 100% usage

I don't think this is cause for concern cerin. I bet you're using tinker and he's using gromacs. (just a guess)

jverkoey
04-09-2005, 12:00 AM
We're doin' pretty good so far with this Folding@Home team, in 2 weeks we've jumped in to the top 20% and still climbing. So far I think we've been doing about 2 WU's a day which is really good. Let's get some more people here joinin' though! I'm sure there's a lot of people here with spare computers lying around!

GanglyLamb
04-12-2005, 05:33 PM
Just finished my first WU :cool: .

I dont know wether it was just the excitement or my computer but the last frames where really taking a long time to complete :confused: .

cerin
04-13-2005, 09:07 PM
I tried putting the mac os x GUI and CLI on my mac os 10, but if I hit display protein in the gui it will start and then start 10 seconds later and freeze. With the CLI it won't respond to any of my commands whatsoever. Anybody know what I should do besides throw the mac out the window?

jverkoey
04-13-2005, 09:59 PM
Use it as a boat anchor?

cerin
04-13-2005, 10:06 PM
Boat anchor??

jverkoey
04-13-2005, 10:08 PM
Reference to a mac video....I've got it on my puter here. It's pretty funny.

sand_man
04-13-2005, 11:49 PM
The Cboard team is doing better than 86.4% of the other teams
So...what do you win? So far I don't see the point in wasting CPU cycles :p

major_small
04-14-2005, 12:41 AM
So...what do you win? So far I don't see the point in wasting CPU cycles :p
making progress towards cures for diseases such as Alzheimer's, Mad Cow (BSE), CJD, ALS, Huntington's, and Parkinson's disease is wasting (otherwise unused) CPU cycles?

and, we got these:
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/awards/tcert.php?u=43476&pts=9097
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/awards/tcert.php?u=43476&pts=57&t=wus&bg=4
:D

sand_man
04-14-2005, 01:03 AM
making progress towards cures for diseases such as Alzheimer's, Mad Cow (BSE), CJD, ALS, Huntington's, and Parkinson's disease is wasting (otherwise unused) CPU cycles?
Yeah, I smell a scam.

major_small
04-14-2005, 01:28 AM
Yeah, I smell a scam.
look up protein folding (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Protein_folding#Incorrect_Protein_Folding_and_Neur odegenerative_Disease) (specifically, when the folds go wrong)

ober
04-14-2005, 06:26 AM
Yeah, I smell a scam. I smell the stench coming from you, and I'm pretty sure that's the smell of NOT WANTING TO HELP HUMANITY.

Quit being a turd and join the effort.

explosive
04-14-2005, 08:39 AM
Ive downloaded it and im running it on my old win98 700Mhz box. Ill put it on my laptop as well later :)

InvariantLoop
04-14-2005, 12:44 PM
Im in too. Mine is working on AMBER core. eheh

adrianxw
04-15-2005, 01:47 PM
I saw that a F@H BOINC client was in beta at one of the BOINC sites. Great I thought, I'll be able to do a bit of F@H as well. I went to the F@H site to get the details. Couldn't find anything official so went to the forums.

Wow, you mention you are interested in a BOINC system and you get ROASTED man. They believe they can do it alone. Fine, instead of giving them my CPU cycles, I'll give it to someone else.

With a welcome like that, F@H deserves all it doesn't get.