PDA

View Full Version : ATI anounced 512 video!



Liger86
03-07-2005, 10:45 AM
I personally think this is a great breakthrough! 512mb of ram on a video card should be pretty good at least for a year!

I could be wrong, but ATI anounced that the 512 will come on their x800 series GPU!

I wonder how long will this card last untill a game comes out that can not be played good enough to be able to enjoy the game.

ober
03-07-2005, 11:40 AM
Big deal. Most games don't even come close to taking advantage of the 256mb cards. The only new, worthwhile video technology (which isn't actually new) is SLI.

spoon_
03-07-2005, 08:36 PM
Are the performance gains from SLI (say, two 6800s) worth the costs at this point in time?

IIRC, it ain't much of a gain.

InvariantLoop
03-07-2005, 08:41 PM
Doom3 has an option to enable if you have a 512mb graphics card. Even if you could use it, the CPU's will be a bottleneck, so i think CPU technology has to gain some ground before we can use 512mb of video ram.

RoD
03-08-2005, 01:30 AM
The athlon 64 winchester would not be a bottleneck ofver 3500+. Secondly, doom3 doesnt have an option for a 512mb vid card, it has a option for the amount of video memory it can use. Doom3 manipulates its INI file to whatever cachemeg size you tell it too. I can set it to 560606965965965 if i want, but the reality is that the engine wont use any amount over 347MB of ram because it isnt programmed too. It has a built in limit of 347. So set it to whatever you want, it wont use it.

So ober stands true in his statement, it aint gonna use it.

ober
03-08-2005, 08:32 AM
Are the performance gains from SLI (say, two 6800s) worth the costs at this point in time?

IIRC, it ain't much of a gain.

Right now? Probably not. Some games (like FarCry) do take advantage of it and use it quite well. Then again, you have to decide what advantage you want, seeing as how you'll need like a 700W PSU to run a system like that.

But the point remains that SLI is the future until something else trumps it (and it won't be a video card with more RAM).

And thanks for the backup, RoD. :)