PDA

View Full Version : What kind of setup are you using?



Korn1699
11-30-2001, 11:44 AM
I didn't see any discussing about it, and I know some people like to brag, so I thought I would ask. (...although my computer isn't too much to brag about)

I have Pentium III 933MHz, 256 MB SDRam, 120 GB total hard drive space (my main is a 80 GB Maxtor 7200 rpm, not sure about the other other than that it is 40 GB), 19" monitor, 4x4x32 burner, 16x dvd drive, and I am running windows xp pro as my os.

I think that is all that I can think of right now

doubleanti
12-01-2001, 10:03 PM
now, why and how in the universe would you fill up that much space? that's ~0.12 terabyte! about that, i'd say you'd need a faster burner to check the ratios more...

450/512/30 [shortchanged on ata 66 since my mobo! dang...] 8x4x32...etc...

oh, and for programming! :) JFE [Jens' File Editor] / DJGPP... *the* perfect setup!!! :) [for me - the dos lover...]

Korn1699
12-01-2001, 10:14 PM
well when it comes to the space part, I heard people say that about the 3.2 GB hard drive on our old computer. I also know that it might not even be enough cause I filled up my original 40gb drive in like 5 months. and my burner is fast enough for me now

doubleanti
12-01-2001, 10:16 PM
oh yeah, that's right... wait 6 months and ram's half price, programs are 4 times as large... "640 K ought to be enough for anybody" - Bill Gates... :)

gnu-ehacks
12-01-2001, 11:19 PM
Celeron 400mHz, 288 mb RAM, 30 GB Hard Drive, 56x CDROM, Cable Modem, and that's about it. =)

Betazep
12-02-2001, 12:41 AM
PIII 500, 128MB, two 30Gig HD, Voodoo 3500, XXX DVD, 12X4 CDR, cable modem, four operating systems (five now that I have BeOS)

Betazep
12-02-2001, 01:12 AM
and about hard drive space filling up... unless you install hundreds of programs, most of your storage space is data. Store data on cds... and delete from hard-drive. When I get to half my hard drive space (15 gig per OS X 4), I clean up. You don't need to keep everything. Lots of programs... lots of data... only one of you.

Ever go through your programs list and see programs that you haven't used for over a year (I am raising my hand.) Why do we do that? I chalk it up to laziness on my end, but not saying that is the reason for others.

I still think that 15 gig is a lot and I have a three 600Gig RAID 5 computers at work (six 100Gig per computer) with 512 megs ram per. (Used for video motion detection, alarm events, and video storage--no personal user would ever need something like that). These are my babies... dual redundant instant swap power supplies. RAID 5 allows you to pull out a drive and put a new one in and the drive gets rebuilt just like the one that was in there before. The things are awesome....

Yet at home... I am terribly happy with my current set up. Probably will be for several years.

(Traditionally, I upgrade my computers as per game manufactures recommendations... if I am over their recommended... I don't need to upgrade :D)

oskilian
12-02-2001, 02:50 PM
All right, here we go

My first baby (7 years old), a Gateway 2000 P4D-66:
Intel 80486/66MHz in an Intel 80486 System Board, 24Mb RAM in SIMM's, 2X NEC_IDE CDROM, a Creative Sound Blaster 16, a Gateway 2000 CrystalScan 14' screen, a Tseng Labs ET-4000 Video Card with 1Mb, a MultiTech MT1932ZDX external modem, an Allied Telesyn AT2500TX 10/100 PCI fast ethernet network adapter and a 1.7Gb Fujitsu Hard Drive

My second one (2 years old)
Intel Pentium III/500MHz in an Intel CC820 System Board, 288Mb RAM in DIMM's, 8,4,32X Creative CD-RW Blaster, a built-in Creative Sound Blaster PCI 128, a ViewSonic E771 17' screen, an ATI Rage 128 GL AGP 2X 32Mb video card, a Motorola SM56 PCI modem, an Allied Telesyn AT2500TX 10/100 PCI fast ethernet network adapter and a 14.7Gb Quantum Fireball Hard Drive

My third one (1 day old)
Intel Pentium 4/1.7GHz in an Intel D850GB Desktop Board, 256Mb RAM in RIMM's, (no CDROM drive yet), a built-in ADI 1885 AC'97 Audio, (no screen yet), and ATI All-In-Wonder 128 PRO AGP 2X/4X 32Mb video card, (no modem yet), a built-in Intel PRO/100 Network Adapter and a 40.2Gb ST315323A Seagate hard drive

They're connected through a Local Area Network with an Allied Telesyn LANedge FastHub 8

Oskilian

doubleanti
12-02-2001, 02:57 PM
yasee?! now, osk, he knows what's up!

>Lots of programs... lots of data... only one of you.

yes, redirect to E:\ via registry...

no need for P 60/66/75/90/100/120/133/150/166/180/200...
no need for PIII 450/500/550/600/etc...
no need for PIV 1/1.2/1.4/etc...

have a nice tripling of mHz and have a nice day!

Null Shinji
12-02-2001, 11:06 PM
Originally posted by oskilian
All right, here we go

My first baby (7 years old), a Gateway 2000 P4D-66:
Intel 80486/66MHz in an Intel 80486 System Board, 24Mb RAM in SIMM's, 2X NEC_IDE CDROM, a Creative Sound Blaster 16, a Gateway 2000 CrystalScan 14' screen, a Tseng Labs ET-4000 Video Card with 1Mb, a MultiTech MT1932ZDX external modem, an Allied Telesyn AT2500TX 10/100 PCI fast ethernet network adapter and a 1.7Gb Fujitsu Hard Drive

My second one (2 years old)
Intel Pentium III/500MHz in an Intel CC820 System Board, 288Mb RAM in DIMM's, 8,4,32X Creative CD-RW Blaster, a built-in Creative Sound Blaster PCI 128, a ViewSonic E771 17' screen, an ATI Rage 128 GL AGP 2X 32Mb video card, a Motorola SM56 PCI modem, an Allied Telesyn AT2500TX 10/100 PCI fast ethernet network adapter and a 14.7Gb Quantum Fireball Hard Drive

My third one (1 day old)
Intel Pentium 4/1.7GHz in an Intel D850GB Desktop Board, 256Mb RAM in RIMM's, (no CDROM drive yet), a built-in ADI 1885 AC'97 Audio, (no screen yet), and ATI All-In-Wonder 128 PRO AGP 2X/4X 32Mb video card, (no modem yet), a built-in Intel PRO/100 Network Adapter and a 40.2Gb ST315323A Seagate hard drive

They're connected through a Local Area Network with an Allied Telesyn LANedge FastHub 8

Oskilian your new baby is sugoi (cool)

Yoshi
12-02-2001, 11:11 PM
Old (5 Years).
48 MB RAM, 166 MHz Cyrix, 6.4 GB HD

Latest (3 years)
64 MB RAM, 433 MHz Celeron, 8 GB HD

OLDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD............
8 MB RAM, 80486/33 MHz, 675 MB (upgraded from 124 MB)

-----------------------------------------------------
322reenignE

Fool
12-02-2001, 11:32 PM
Man, some of you guys need new PCs. Here's mine...

AMD 1ghz@1.4ghz Thunderbird
Shuttle AK31A (KT266A Chipset)
1GB PC2100 Crucial RAM
GF3 Ti200
20GB WD HHD
Antec SX1030 case
Gamesurround Muse XL sound card
Linksys 4 port router
Linksys NIC
Windows 2000 Pro
Visual Studio 6
JBuilder Personal
and more stuff I'm probably forgetting

doubleanti
12-02-2001, 11:43 PM
hehe... no... i don't! just a couple hours to defrag... ok ok ok, yes i do...! are you happy now! sheesh...

hasafraggin 1.x gigashizers...

Yoshi
12-02-2001, 11:48 PM
Dblanti? r u ok? You just gone crazy!
-----------
Engineer223

oskilian
12-02-2001, 11:55 PM
>hasafraggin 1.x gigashizers

a huge LOL

my computer takes up to 8 hours when in scandisk

a question: my case comes with a fan, my processor comes with another one, I bought another one for my case and another one for the hard drive. will it go faster (the hard drive, I mean)?

Oskilian