PDA

View Full Version : question of the day

The Brain
12-29-2004, 01:20 PM
Whoever said, "I want to write spyware for a living when I grow up...?"

How many people here who are willing to admit have been tasked by their companies to write spyware...?

On the average.. how much does the average entry level spyware developer make..??!?

Stack Overflow
12-29-2004, 01:37 PM
Hello,

After reading this article, Sick of Spam? Prepare for Adware (http://www.wired.com/news/technology/0,1282,63345,00.html), it dawned on me. Maybe there is no salary for making spyware. After all, there are over 10,000 different types to protect yourself from. They get bundled with software, freeware, or any type of installation and bombard your computer after that. Just create them, and push them on the market.

- Stack Overflow

The Brain
12-29-2004, 01:42 PM
i'm seeing colleges offering intro to spyware/adware development comming soon... :rolleyes:

Aerie
12-29-2004, 07:56 PM
How very sad that I can see your prediction being true in my lifetime....

RoD
12-29-2004, 09:58 PM
Its already true in some colleges around here, spyware and stuff to that nature is cheap cheap cheap advertising for companies, and its not going to stop. They can utilize such a large percentage of the market at little to no cost.

sean
12-29-2004, 10:08 PM
i'm seeing colleges offering intro to spyware/adware development comming soon...

Well they used to teach email spam under Marketing. It'll just flow right into that.

dpro
12-30-2004, 12:22 PM
I am sure some of the people who write it are not necessarily given a choice, however saying that, I violently dislike spyware because I feel its un-necessary (well I don't care what brittney spears is doing now or whatever else pops up) but also many time they try to disguise it as something else and insult the user's intelligence.