PDA

View Full Version : Why do I deserve such a punishment?



oskilian
11-24-2001, 09:22 PM
I got a miserable Interrnet connection, there are lots of good connections here in Colombia, but noooo, I have to have a miserable modem connection which supossedly can go up to 56k, but when I call tech support, they say that the quality of my pone line only accepts connections up to 33k.

Like that was the only thing. I also have two modems, the fisrt one is 56k, but I get a very unstable connection, I called tech support and they told me that my modem is way too cheap (it actually is) and that the modem overheats after some minutes of use. I'm currently using it, but only after I put a bucket of ice below the modem card... And, when I don't use ice, I have to use an even more miserable modem!, a 19200 modem which connects at 14400 but downloads data at 9600bps or even LESS!, but that modem is good because it doesn't get overheated.

There are lots of people who I know who have cable connections (they are very cheap), and they only use them to send e-mail or to chat at latinchat (this is the place you go to when you're really bored (when you're nearing suicide). But I have to have a friggin connection in which I go happy because I'm downloading data at 2 K/s

Why do I have to stand up with this torture when I need a good connection, while other people have it and only use it 15 minutes a day, or only use it to play backgammon or chess over MSN zone?

Oskilian

gnu-ehacks
11-25-2001, 12:02 AM
Hmm...Unless you can't afford it, and are getting free internet, you might as well gate cable, or DSL, or T1, or T3, or dual T3, or something! Okay so I took it too far. Well, just get a high speed internet connection.

maes
11-25-2001, 06:49 AM
You can ask a fast connection as graduation gift, instead of the P4. I also had a slow connection a while ago. But now I have DSL and it's like a hole new world opening.

iain
11-25-2001, 12:46 PM
hmm, i have a 56K connection to BT (who incidentally are crap - regular connection dropping) and i dont live in a dsl or broadband enabled area.

Fordy
11-25-2001, 03:08 PM
>>hmm, i have a 56K connection to BT (who incidentally are crap - regular connection dropping) and i dont live in a dsl or broadband enabled area.

Iain... have you noted how bad its been over the last fortnight......It dies all the time for an hour or so..... I heard they have had major problems a while ago and they are still reeling....

oskilian
11-25-2001, 06:17 PM
I have the possibility of having Cable internet (the T series don't apply here, we have European E's), but the main providers (TV Cable Bogotá) have two choices: you can get the subscription and equipment for free, but you have to sign a contract that says that you have to use their service for TWO years, or you can have an open contract, but you have to buy the equipment (and that's expensive). As for DSL, it is so expensive that it's only available for big enterprises. I had RDSI (ISDN), but it made all phone calls more expensive.

as for the gift, I hadn't thought of it, but in case I can go to the USA to study, a computer of my own can do more for me than a fast internet connection at home.

Oskilian

gnu-ehacks
11-25-2001, 06:37 PM
Use whichever is cheaper. What good would free equipment do if you move in one year? On the other hand, if you don't plan on moving, and the equipment is cheaper, just get the equipment.

Cheeze-It
11-25-2001, 06:37 PM
I have DSL. I pay less than $50 (including ISP)
per month. Why does everybody say it's so
expensive? I think it's well worth the price.
I don't have an extra phone line for my computer,
but with DSL I don't need one. I can use the
phone and the internet at the same time...
.

novacain
11-25-2001, 10:49 PM
Could be worse.
You at least have the choice to get broadband, I won't for a very long time.

I get good 56K modem coverage. But then I live within 10Kms of the CBD of a capital city in Aus.

Others in the outback are not so lucky. If the gov sells the last of our tele co , Telstra. The phone instal will rise from its cap of about US$100. In remote areas this could be up to US$7,500 for the phone (what it actually costs Telstra).

(Until they get the two way satallite right)

The V.
11-26-2001, 12:05 AM
And, if your phone lines are that crappy, you can't get DSL anyway. Same reason I was stuck last summer on a 28.8 dialup, even in a large US city.

BTW, static -- outside the US, DSL can be VERY expensive -- the equiv. of $300 US a month, in some countries/locations.

The US has some of the world's cheapest phone and internet services; most other countries are not nearly as lucky as us. Even many highly industrial nations have terrible services -- the UK has horridly expensive phone service, for example.

oskilian
11-26-2001, 12:24 AM
I've checked it out and corporate DSL (The only possibility) with Colvatel (There is also EPM, but they haven't wired the whole city yet) costs U$850 a month PLUS the equipment (I could get those for free because my dad is into networking), but you have 10 Asymetric Gbps, that's way too fast, but I don't need that kind of internet in my house.

Cable would do fine (these guys who provide cable also provide Cable TV, and I DO have Cable TV with these people, so it would be cheaper, about... U$25 a month)), but as I told you, maybe I get accepted to study in the USA, and I would move in less than a year.

Oskilian

Camilo
11-26-2001, 11:44 AM
I think you are extremely lucky by the mere fact of having Internet, just take a look to this:
http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=01/11/23/1746245&mode=thread

Camilo

oskilian
11-26-2001, 10:24 PM
ooh, poor people!

I really feel sorry for them, but I still don't think that I deserve such a lousy connection (we have lots of ISP's and I don't think that all of them can be closed)

Oskilian

*Michelle*
11-26-2001, 10:30 PM
I have ADSL... I think it's just $45 a month, it's not that expensive... How much is it in Colombia? And I thought you have a computer of your own, don't you? Oh, or do you share it with brothers and sisters, or something?

oskilian
11-26-2001, 10:58 PM
DSL is really expensive in Colombia, see the explanation 4 or 5 posts above.

As for my computer, I happen to have two, and the idea is that we (me and my brother) must share 'em, but the problem is that the other computer is extremely slow at any task (it's a 486/66 20Mb RAM), so we must both use this computer, and that annoys me some times (specially when my brother has an assignment for the next day, but he didn't make it while I was at school (he was sleeping), he had to do it at 10 o' clock, that's PRECISELY when I use the computer. But I can't say a word because it's homework, and my stuff isn't.

Happens all the time

that's why I must get a Pentium 4 computer as my graduation gift.

Oskilian

gnu-ehacks
11-26-2001, 11:02 PM
How much is a T1 line where you come from? I know it's probably considered too much for you to be interested in, I'm just curious.

*Michelle*
11-26-2001, 11:07 PM
T1 line?! Aren't those for companies and schools or something? Geez, you don't need it at home... I am fine with ADSL... It is pretty fast actually... And I think the computer matters more than the connection speed, 'cause lots of stupid website servers can't even move that fast, what's the point of have such a fast connection?

P.S. I got 98/100 in my eng lit review!!! I was so shocked!!! ^.^

oskilian
11-26-2001, 11:21 PM
the T series (T1 or T3) are not available in here, we do have the E series (E1, E3, E4 and E5), which are european (I think), and they are cheaper than DSL (monthly), but the equipment is really expensive (more than U$5000)

Michelle: congratulations on your exam!

Oskilian

gnu-ehacks
11-26-2001, 11:24 PM
I didn't really care about home. I was just curious about it. Anyways, my friend has it because his dad has a few servers at his house, and he connected his computer to the network. Anyways, I see no point in T1. It's only double the speed of Cable internet, and it's so much more money. Why don't companies just create a dual cable connection instead of a T1. That'll give the same bandwidth. I've seen dual T1's, and that's pretty stupid. T3 is more worth the money paid than a T1 line.

Man I want a T3 line...45 MBPS! *DROOLZ*

*Michelle*
11-27-2001, 10:31 PM
No, the lit review is just an assignment, not an exam or anything... We don't have exams, well, maybe finals, but that's it...

T3??? Geez, will the cable fit in your walls??? Hehe, just kidding...

My school doesn't even have T3 and you want one in your house? Geez...

oskilian
11-27-2001, 11:21 PM
Michelle: my school doesn't even have ADSL (they have cable), and you DO have ADSL?

Oskilian

*Michelle*
11-28-2001, 02:26 AM
Ya, I have ADSL... My school has T1, but it's slower than my ADSL! Geez, you can imagine how rusty and old the computers are... Oh, you want to hear something really stupid about a computer teacher who used to teach at my school? My current comp. teacher told me this...

You know how you can open the case and take the mouseball out? Well, the students started STEALING those balls, for god knows what reason. So, the "smart" teacher decided to glue the cases shut, so the students can't get at the balls anymore. As you can see, the glue also glued the balls to the case, making it "extremely" difficult to move the mouse properly, and thus ruining all the mice in the classroom with this little scheme of his... *sigh*. Now, when I move the mouse a little bit, the cursor doesn't move at all, and when I move it more, the cursor shoots across the screen and never end up where I want it to be... Geez...

oskilian
11-28-2001, 11:25 PM
something like that happened at school, but with mousepads (or should I say micepad (nah)), students were stealing them, so the teacher glued them one afternoon, but those mousepads worked like a sponge and drenched the mice with glue for the whole weekend!, on monday, every mouse in the computers room was glued to the mousepads and the mousepads to the table!, it was very funny!

oskilian

Camilo
11-29-2001, 08:26 AM
when? where? who?, I can't remember something like that.

Camilo

*Michelle*
11-29-2001, 08:57 PM
What do you mean, Camilo? Do you go to the same school as Osk, or something? Wow, cool... btw, are you a girl? Or a guy...

Your name suggests that you are a girl...

oskilian
11-29-2001, 09:07 PM
<laughing>HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHA <catches breath> HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.... <goes on for hours>


3 hours later...

Oskilian

*Michelle*
11-29-2001, 09:12 PM
What! Ok, ok, stop laughing... I don't see anything funny there, and will you please kindly explain what I wrote that is so funny that would (in reality if you laugh so long) choke you to death... Um, I don't want to be an indirect murderer you know...

Wa... don't laugh! :sniff sniff:: 0o. (> 0 <) .o0 <--crying

oskilian
11-29-2001, 09:19 PM
Camilo is (was) in the same school as I, we're both graduating on saturday, we've actually been best friends since we were 5. But, you see, the name "Camilo" is one of the most common MALE names in Colombia, and mostly Latin America, that's what's so funny.

Oskilian

*Michelle*
11-29-2001, 11:37 PM
Oh.

Geez.... I DON'T KNOW SPANISH!! Blah. Ok, then, Camilo's a guy... cool, I didn't see you post on doubleanti's "does anyone know anyone from here in real life" thread... Oh well...Camilo does sound girlie in English... hehehe, sorry, Camille, heheeh, there used to be a girl called Camille or something like that in my art class... haha! I will call you Camille now, short for Camilo.. ^.^...

Yoshi
11-30-2001, 06:51 PM
Will you stop making fun of people Michelle?:mad:
-----------------------
322reenignE

oskilian
11-30-2001, 11:16 PM
>I DON'T KNOW SPANISH!!
You don't have to, Camilo is not a spanish name (I think), ask him for more details on that

>Camilo does sound girlie in English...
Not to me... and, you know, most names in spanish have female and male versions (mine doesn't). For example, there's Fernando and there is Fernanda. Or Juan and Juana.

>I will call you Camille now, short for Camilo..
I don't think he would like that, you'd better ask him before start calling him differently.

Oskilian