PDA

View Full Version : Recent Extended Downtime



webmaster
11-03-2004, 02:28 AM
As you have no doubt noticed, the server was unavailable for several days, and the message board has also been down. The reason for the downtime is two-fold: first, the hard drive of the server was partially failing, and, second, the original backup that I reinstalled after the hard drive was replaced was incomplete. This necessitated reinstalling the old hard drive and recovering several MySQL tables necessary for vBulletin and then a struggle to get vBulletin to work correctly again. Fortunately, a reinstall of vBulletin (and an upgrade to version 3.0.3) seems to have finally fixed the problems that the site had been experiencing.

I apologize for the downtime, and am weighing options to ensure greater availability in the face of unreliable hardware.

prog-bman
11-03-2004, 03:31 AM
Thanks for working hard to get it back online :)

GanglyLamb
11-03-2004, 04:13 AM
Indeed,

Glad to see cboard back online, thanks for all the work you did in the past days.

Greets,

Ganglylamb

Sang-drax
11-03-2004, 04:22 AM
Nice to see that the board is up.
I cannot upload files for some reason, does anyone else have this problem?

itld
11-03-2004, 07:30 AM
Howdy,
Hey it really works, COOL.

M.R.

webmaster
11-03-2004, 08:32 AM
The file uploading problem was due to a mis-configured PHP option; it has been fixed.

jverkoey
11-03-2004, 08:55 AM
Awesome! Cboard's back online! *comes out of flashdaddee bomb shelter*

xddxogm3
11-03-2004, 09:53 AM
it is good to see the board back online.
i have been going through withdrawl.
thanks for all the hard work

Sang-drax
11-03-2004, 10:28 AM
The board was sort of mirrored for a period of time yesterday. :) Notice the position of the vertical scrollbar.

maes
11-03-2004, 12:24 PM
Thanks for getting us back :)

Nyda
11-03-2004, 01:28 PM
Thanks for bringing us back online :D

quzah
11-03-2004, 01:31 PM
Funny thing about the mirrored look, it only happened if you signed in. :D

Quzah.

Govtcheez
11-03-2004, 01:33 PM
Funny thing about the mirrored look, it only happened if you signed in. :D

Quzah.
The site never looked weird for me at all last night; I don't know what the deal was. Of course, the thread I posted yesterday is gone, and my profile is pretty broken, but I didn't get the mirrored thing.

Did you enjoy your homework-less vacation, quzah?

B0bDole
11-03-2004, 02:08 PM
yah cheez, fix ur profile I am sillyI am sillyI am sillyI am silly

sean
11-03-2004, 02:33 PM
None of us realize how pathetic our lives are until Cboard is down. In the past week, I have done the following:

- Actually traded legal tender for an Aqua CD.
- Said "there's no place like 127.0.0.1" to a girl.
- Sat at my computer for half an hour staring at the database error message contemplating what I could do instead.
- I bought some Batman party hats. I can't remember why.
- Left the house.

With your quick thinking and bravery, you very well may have saved my life, webmaster.

xddxogm3
11-03-2004, 03:04 PM
>With your quick thinking and bravery, you very well may have saved my life, webmaster.

i feel you sean.

xddxogm3
11-06-2004, 02:32 AM
is anyone else still having problems getting onto cboard.cprogramming.com?
this is the first time i have been able to access the site all day.
is it me or is it an issue for everybody?

major_small
11-06-2004, 01:36 PM
I haven't been having any problems since it came up... is it just me, or was it back up for a few hours during the downtime as well?

xddxogm3
11-06-2004, 02:14 PM
do you know what cookie this site places on your machine?
i'm wondering if the old cookie is sending me to the admin location of the site.
i keep getting the apache default page when i try to access the forum from my work pc.
i can get on from home, but not from work yet.
i'm not sure again if it is just me that is lucky like this, or what.

Lithorien
11-06-2004, 03:20 PM
Force refresh. Ctrl + F5

xddxogm3
11-06-2004, 04:48 PM
good call.
i just did that moments before i saw your post, and it worked.
thanks.

DeepFyre
11-06-2004, 05:43 PM
>>Force refresh. Ctrl + F5
Sorry for getting off topic but what does force refresh do?

sand_man
11-06-2004, 06:18 PM
its pretty self explanitory.
it forces a refresh :)
It makes the page refresh without loading from cache.

DeepFyre
11-06-2004, 06:32 PM
Oh, so its different then just a plain old boring refresh?

Thantos
11-06-2004, 08:53 PM
Yes. A refresh will follow normal cache rules so it could easily pull the page from cache. A "force" refresh (aka a server refresh) tells the browser to ignore any cache and get the page from the server.