PDA

View Full Version : Sudo'ing in GUI



vsriharsha
08-23-2004, 07:34 AM
Hi Pals,

1)
How do I run a command (that actually needs root permission) in GUI?
Hmmmm, reframing it.....
I have to install an RPM. From the terminal I issue the command......
sudo rpm -i .........
And it does the trick.... (as my usename has been added in the sudo file).
Now, if I want to do the same thing from GUI.. (Double click the tar file), it stops me and asks for the root password...!!
How do I go about?

2)
where do i place the program files (first of all, can I move the executables from the place they have been installed by rpm?) so that they appear in one of the menu items in my start menu....Say in the programming group (after Emacs etc)...

-Harsha

sean
08-23-2004, 08:17 AM
To answer your first question: If you are talking about how to accomplish this through a program you're writing, system() commands work from a GUI as well. They execute the command, they just won't show up on screen.

vsriharsha
08-23-2004, 08:21 AM
Hmmm... No, not my program....I was asking how do you do it in general....

Suppose I download an RPM, how do I install it....Or, suppose I want to configure the mouse or something, how do I do it?

Better way, how do I tell a GUI application that my login is listed in sudoer file so that it wont prompt me for root password....?

-Harsha.

principii
09-16-2004, 06:00 PM
Suppose I download an RPM, how do I install it....

$rpm --help
$rpm -ivh <package>

vsriharsha
09-16-2004, 11:46 PM
Have you gone through the complete thread Mr. Principii??? I know how to install an rpm in CLI, but my question was different.

glUser3f
09-17-2004, 10:43 AM
Here (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/su-x.xml) you go, it's from gentoo.org, but should work on any other distro.