PDA

View Full Version : Question about internet hosting

procyon4476
02-29-2004, 03:39 PM
I am VERY new to webpage creation, know how to create them pretty well but have never had one put up on the internet. I'm helping a friend of mine put up a store over at ebay. One of the problems with creating the store homepage is that ebay will not upload pictures for you, they all must come from another site. So my question is, does anyone know a cheap or even free way to get maybe 5-6 pictures hosted on the internet so that the ebay webpage can reference them? Googling gives me so many hits that my head hurts, and I haven't been able to find a simple one to just put a couple of pictures up.

sean
02-29-2004, 03:47 PM
Why not just try geocities?

axon
02-29-2004, 03:50 PM
...or angelfire/lycos ?

alphaoide
02-29-2004, 04:21 PM
I had this experience linking pictures from free geocities to my ebay auction and the pictures won't load. So my suggestion is to have a link to your geocities page that contains the pictures instead of just referencing the pictures.

procyon4476
02-29-2004, 04:25 PM
Thanks for the help, I tried using AngelFire and so far it seems to work and the images are loading, at least in the preview page that is. Thanks again!

RoD
02-29-2004, 10:24 PM
most of the free ones done allow any (or much) hotlinking anymore.

jverkoey
02-29-2004, 10:35 PM
brinkster (http://www.brinkster.com)

is the site i was hosted by since about 2001, then they started putting ads on the site :( they used to be a completely free, no-ad, 30 mb website, only drawback is you'd get really long names (like http://www21.brinkster.com/jverkoey/tiproject/ )

but yah, they are a pretty nice community, minus the mandatory ads now :(

whee, i just noticed that that website that i linked to above is the top-ranked search result for "GAMES TI83+" at google :)

master5001
03-02-2004, 02:06 PM