PDA

View Full Version : kAZZAM!!!



caroundw5h
01-22-2004, 07:00 PM
I was just curious how one can download a virus from a kazaa if looking only for music files. As far as I know, the files are not .exe and have to run by a multimedia player like winamp before anything happens. I know you can change a files extension, but is that the only way? Just wondering if i was to download from kazaa. not that i would. :D

XSquared
01-22-2004, 07:03 PM
Nope. Only .exe, .com, .pif etc. can contain virii.

nomi
01-22-2004, 07:07 PM
Kazaa....sux.

irc all the way.

Dante Shamest
01-22-2004, 07:12 PM
Kazaa Lite K++ :)

1veedo
01-22-2004, 07:55 PM
I don't care what version.. kazaa sucks! Use WinMx (http://www.winmx.com/).

My viris scan found a viris in an avi file. I forget what it was but it said it was there. I figure it would have messed with media player or something. Btw, what are some better [free] alternetives to media player? I don't like it because it sends info about what you watch to microsoft!

nomi
01-22-2004, 08:23 PM
Kazaa sux, but you can use it coz it is a useful tool for the newbie who has just learned to download...

I suggest irc over anyother thing. bcoz files on irc are mostly legit unike kazaa and other p2p networks

XSquared
01-22-2004, 08:25 PM
Originally posted by nomi
I suggest irc over anyother thing. bcoz files on irc are mostly legit unike kazaa and other p2p networks
I'm assuming that by 'legit' you mean they're actually what they're advertised as, not that they're legal to download.

Benzakhar
01-22-2004, 09:01 PM
I heard that virus's can infect a type of image file, I don't remember what it is right now. What I wonder is how can a virus infect an image file and when that image file is opened up the virus starts executing. From what I know the image file is loaded up into memory, from there (in windows) the DC is created and Handel to bitmap is created, then the memory gets copyed there. Or something like that. Virus's can infect any file these they's. They can also download onto your computer if you don't have a firewall.