PDA

View Full Version : TASM assembler



Lurker
11-10-2003, 07:36 PM
Where can I download this? Isn't it a product of Borland (Turbo ASM)? I searched on Google and on Borlands site, but cannot find it. Thanks for help :D !!!

Fordy
11-11-2003, 12:48 AM
This isnt a free product. Occasionally it comes up at ebay for a fair price.......also I think it may still be bundled with one of the higher end borland compilers.

There was talk of borland turning Tasm over to open source......but I dont know the progress of this.

You can get other assemblers free though; Nasm is an open source assembler with a great reputation....and MASM (microsoft's assembler) is available for free as part of various online packages. Have a search

VirtualAce
11-11-2003, 03:29 AM
TASM is basically all over the internet. I'll not post the link here as it is not a legal download. But my honest opinion is that it has made most of its money and therefore only falls under the stupid intellectual property laws. They should put it in the museum on the inprise site but they haven't yet. With MSVC and inline assembler, NASM, and others, TASM is really of no use to me. I'm not sure why they don't just release it into the public domain or at least the 16-bit version of it.

Lurker
11-11-2003, 11:27 AM
The main reason I was asking is the borland C++ compiler defaults to tasm32.exe for asm compiling. How can I change that to NASM or MASM? Thanks :D !

Lurker
11-11-2003, 01:34 PM
Also, where can I get NASM (sorry) :D ? I already have MASM.

EDIT: Wait, is this (http://sourceforge.net/projects/nasm/) the most recent version of it? Thanks :D !

VirtualAce
11-11-2003, 03:36 PM
Well you can add your own menu item to the Tools section. Then fill in the fields for program and location appropriately (wherever your nasm is) and it should work. However, for inline assembly all Borland compilers default to BASM and there isn't a way AFAIK to change that. It is part of the IDE.

Lurker
11-11-2003, 03:52 PM
1 problem - I don't use the IDE :D .