PDA

View Full Version : formatting a western digital HD



Klinerr1
11-10-2003, 03:47 PM
ok im sort of putting togethor an old computer just for fun. im pretty much finished but the hard drive im using was in anohter computer i just took it out and plopped it in this one. it has windows on it but everything on it is messed up mainly cause the hardware i have is not what it has drivers for and isntead of going through all this crap to make windows start correctly i decided it would be best to format it

i tried westerndigital.com i couldnt find a format tool. anyone know how i can get a hold of one that i can run off a disk?

Brian
11-10-2003, 04:16 PM
Most operating system installers are capable of formatting a hard disk (any version of windows after 95, I believe, freebsd and many linux distros), and considering a blank disk isn't very useful, you might as well use an operating system installer.

Failing that, use fdisk, or a large magnet.

Klinerr1
11-10-2003, 04:24 PM
if i use a magnet it wont like damage it will it? hehe

and is fdisk a dos console command right?

Klinerr1
11-10-2003, 04:50 PM
alright it has 95 on it how can i start it so i can type in dos commands? and work in the console i tried holding f5 i tried holding lots of stuff

Scourfish
11-10-2003, 06:51 PM
western digital does have a hard drive tool that you boot from a floppy, you can download it at their website;


The downside is that the tool uses Caldera DR DOS; and we all know how much everybody wants to show their support for SCO

Klinerr1
11-10-2003, 09:20 PM
i looked thru the site i couldnt find it.... maybe some help?

Thantos
11-10-2003, 09:52 PM
I must say that if you don't know how to format a drive, maybe you aren't the best person to be installing the OS and heck even building the computer.

But get your hands on a win98 boot disk. It comes with fdisk and format.

Klinerr1
11-10-2003, 09:57 PM
i had all this $$$$ actually from building this computer i had it on disks for times i needed it yadah i put it in the back my closet and it never returned! and caledra dos is a utility i liked to use but i cant seem to find it anywhere :\ but i havent messed with none this crap for atleast a year or 2 ive actually stopped programming to my copmuter mind has gone stupid

GSLR
11-11-2003, 06:13 AM
try here ,,

saw it in a earlier post www.bootdisk.com

or else start the win 95 os and make a startup win 95 3.5" disk,
copy fdisk and format.com onto this system disk.

Restart , leave 3.5" disk in drive and this should get you to a dos prompt ( If bios is set correctly)

type format c: /s at the command prompt.

thats it i think !!

:D

Klinerr1
11-11-2003, 07:49 AM
i really just need a copy of caldrea dr dos that i can run on a regular floppy disk. i been looking aruond like crazy for a download. does anyone have it or know where i can get it. its apparetnyl not on the site anymore

Scourfish
11-11-2003, 12:33 PM
Originally posted by Klinerr1
i really just need a copy of caldrea dr dos that i can run on a regular floppy disk. i been looking aruond like crazy for a download. does anyone have it or know where i can get it. its apparetnyl not on the site anymore

I would advise against affiliating yourself with SCO or using their products in any way.

Klinerr1
11-11-2003, 01:26 PM
well i just know that caledra dr dos works ive used it before to delete and create partitions. i find it fairly easy. im just after doing the same routines i did before when working with this computer originally over the summer.

ober
11-11-2003, 01:29 PM
First of all, shouldn't this be a Tech Board thread??

Secondly: http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

Click on DOS 6.22 (the first one), download, execute to unzip to floppy. Shutdown your computer, reboot with the floppy in. That should bring up DOS. The floppy will have fdisk and format on it.

And I must agree with what Thantos said:
>>I must say that if you don't know how to format a drive, maybe you aren't the best person to be installing the OS and heck even building the computer

Klinerr1
11-11-2003, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by Brian
Most operating system installers are capable of formatting a hard disk (any version of windows after 95, I believe, freebsd and many linux distros), and considering a blank disk isn't very useful, you might as well use an operating system installer.

Failing that, use fdisk, or a large magnet.

i used fdisk, i deleted the old partition on it htat had windows on it. so i made a new primary partition in its place. but i cant figure out how you assign it to be a fat32 partition... i left the other small dos partition on it. (of course)

ober
11-11-2003, 01:31 PM
that's what format is for.....

Klinerr1
11-11-2003, 02:37 PM
it made a partition but isntead of making it a type fat32, it just says uknown

ZerOrDie
11-11-2003, 04:58 PM
:rolleyes: better bring it to the computer tech's... Such a complex operation is obviously something you cant perform.

Klinerr1
11-11-2003, 05:17 PM
I CAN DO IT, if i could $$$$ing find a copy of caledra DR DOs

Scourfish
11-11-2003, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by Klinerr1
I CAN DO IT, if i could $$$$ing find a copy of caledra DR DOs

What did I tell you about endorsing SCO?

Klinerr1
11-11-2003, 10:23 PM
and what did i say after that? anyways i got it from my friend tim. and now i got it all working and crap so im happy.

ober
11-12-2003, 02:19 PM
I gave you full instructions on how to do all of it. WTF do you need some stupid Caldera crap for?

N3\/\/bs :rolleyes:

Klinerr1
11-16-2003, 03:04 AM
didnt i say it wouldnt let me make a fat32 partition using fdisk?