PDA

View Full Version : Code Red Virus



ggs
08-10-2001, 03:36 PM
I just found out that the request URI that those people were sending was the code red virus at work =P

In the last 15 minutes, there has was '8 attacks' on my homebrew server from various different addresses (usually on my ISP). Er, no, wait, another was just made. Make that 9. (seriously!)

pretty crappy little virus if you ask me...

Witch_King
08-10-2001, 05:02 PM
Since I now have Win2k Professional I had to download CodeRedII patch from www.microsoft.com

Apparently there are several strains of the Code Red virus, and some of them are malicious.

mfc2themax
08-10-2001, 11:48 PM
Even after that big campaign by the government and Microsoft to get people to download the patch, hundreds of thousands of people didnt. Thats the dumbest part of this whole code-red thing.

Nick
08-11-2001, 12:45 AM
Don't forget it's the result of a buffer overflow in
Microsoft server code!

rick barclay
08-11-2001, 05:03 AM
Witch_King (get used to it)...You only have to
d/l and install the patch if you're running IIS servier
in the background. Did you check? Was it?

Just curious.

rick barclay

mfc2themax
08-11-2001, 07:08 AM
>Since I now have Win2k Professional I had to download CodeRedII patch from www.microsoft.com

Dont forget from now on you need to download a new patch every five minutes......

zen
08-11-2001, 07:51 AM
You only have to
d/l and install the patch if you're running IIS servier
in the background
This is installed by default (i think). It was there on my setup(win2kpro) and I've never manually installed it.

mithrandir
08-11-2001, 08:25 AM
What exactly is the code red worm meant to do?

zen
08-11-2001, 09:35 AM
Not sure exactly. Before I got the patch it would just lock up my internet connection (requiring reboot) every hour or so. I think it just screws up one of the buffers.

Witch_King
08-11-2001, 10:25 AM
>>Witch_King (get used to it)...You only have to
d/l and install the patch if you're running IIS servier
in the background. Did you check? Was it<<

No, but I installed it anyway, patch II that is. It only took 1 minute to download and another 45 seconds to install. Now the computer is protected just in case.