PDA

View Full Version : Chipset: the up-to-date poll.



Liger86
06-20-2003, 03:43 PM
Chipset: the up-to-date poll.

With all new chipsets coming' out I really want to know who picks which and who thinks which is the best. Please post your vote now, and explain why in the world you choose what you choose.

The list above (and below) and the chipsets that are most popular!

[the fallowing list was taken from Abit Tech. Website]
· Intel® 875P chipset
· Intel® 865 chipset
· Intel® 850 chipset
· Intel® 845 chipset
· Intel® 815 chipset
· Intel® 440BX/ZX chipset
· VIA KT400
· VIA KT333
· VIA KT266A
· VIA KT133
· VIA KX133
· VIA 694
· VIA 693
· AMD 761
· SIS Chipset Series
· NVIDIA nForce chipset

ygfperson
06-20-2003, 03:53 PM
I think mine is sis now. It used to be VIA.

Liger86
06-20-2003, 04:05 PM
Originally posted by ygfperson
I think mine is sis now. It used to be VIA.

Why?

FloatingPoint
06-21-2003, 09:19 AM
nForce here.

Have heard good reviews on nForce2. probably, it'll be my next system maybe.

But the only thing I hate abt mine is the crappy on-board video : 32MB GeForce 2 MX! That's cheesy ;(

-=SoKrA=-
06-21-2003, 09:26 AM
Voted for nForce. Will be using the nForce2 in about a month in the massive upgrade I'm gonna make. I'm not sure what I'm using in this laptop now (it's just borowed). I've not tried one yet but I've read some good reviews. It seems to be fast with graphics. We'll see.

TravisS
06-21-2003, 02:55 PM
nForce 2 here. It's great, soooo much flexibility :D

Fountain
06-21-2003, 03:00 PM
Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8366A Apollo KT266A
In-Order Queue Depth 4
CAS Latency 3T
RAS To CAS Delay 3T
RAS Precharge 3T

Memory Slots
DRAM Slot #1 256 MB (SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 512 MB (SDRAM)

AGP Properties
AGP Version 2.00
AGP Status Enabled
AGP Aperture Size 64 MB
Supported AGP Speeds 1x, 2x, 4x
Current AGP Speed 4x
Fast-Write Not Supported
Side Band Addressing Supported, Enabled

Chipset Manufacturer
Company Name VIA Technologies, Inc.
Product Information http://www.via.com.tw/en/apollo/chipsetindex.jsp
Driver Download http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=2



Whatever that means.:) Works ok though. I used to have SIS-never had a moments peace. Or was that 'cos I used to mess with SIS utility tray heh. Oh yes, stats from AIDA32-very useful tool.

HaLCy0n
06-21-2003, 03:13 PM
I'm rebuilding my computer in a couple weeks. I'm getting the Asus A7N8X, which has the nForce2 chipset. Looks like an amazing board, can't wait to get it :)

frenchfry164
06-21-2003, 03:22 PM
I'm stuck with the crap my stupid dad buys. He doesn't trust me with buying anything because he thinks I'll waste his money, but he doesn't know crap about computers, and he wastes his own money.

I have a crappy EliteGroup SiS 735 Mobo. I used to have a VIA, but my idiot dad said he didn't like it. What was there not to like? IT WAS ACTUALLY RELIABLE. This piece of crap SiS board keeps losing our CMOS data, the on-board sound once in a while stops working until you reboot, PCI slot 1 doesn't work if you are using the on-board USB 2.0, it only supports 800MB RAM (our old one supported 2 GB), and it is slow as crap.

My Dad says he might be giving me $200 to build me a older system for my personal use. I'm just going to save up my allowance, birthday money, and Christmas money (which will add up to around $350) add that with the $200 my dad is giving me for a computer, and build me one. I'm going to laugh at him when he sees my computer kick his computer's ass, and I paid less for mine! Muhahahaha!

the Wookie
06-21-2003, 03:47 PM
nforce. less problems than via. i have kt266a, had some problems with those, but a few people i know used nforce, disabled the onboard video, and had no problems at all.

nvidia is also more 'known' than via, they stay on top of things.

HaLCy0n
06-21-2003, 10:52 PM
You can also get the nForce2 with everything but the onboard video, though I believe that it is alittle more expensive to get it without. That is how it is with the board I am getting. Since I have a Radeon 9700, I won't be needing the onboard :)

FloatingPoint
06-22-2003, 06:12 AM
Originally posted by the Wookie
nforce. less problems than via. i have kt266a, had some problems with those, but a few people i know used nforce, disabled the onboard video, and had no problems at all.

nvidia is also more 'known' than via, they stay on top of things.

Yea, and I didnt have enuff money for an external vga.

Next time, I'm gonna go for an nForce2 w/ a 128 MB Ti4600 maybe.

Anyway, what's the onboard video on nForce2?

vasanth
06-22-2003, 11:23 AM
Upgraded my PC used an Asus v7n266-vm/se board.. it is tops.. uses nForce chipset..

TravisS
06-22-2003, 02:33 PM
To the best of my knowledge there isn't a single nForce 2 board with onboard video. If anybody can prove otherwise, I'd honestly love to see it.

I have an Asus A7N8X non-deluxe. It is a great board, but try to make sure you get a Rev. 2 board (shouldn't be a problem). A-Bit NF7-S is a slightly better board though, but also more expensive :p

HaLCy0n
06-22-2003, 02:57 PM
Here's one Asus board with builtin video:
http://www.asus.com/products/mb/socketa/a7n8x-vm/overview.htm

And here is a link to the Nvidia site about the nForce2, and the different variations (with or without onboard video):
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=nppa

TravisS
06-22-2003, 05:08 PM
Oh, cool :D

I knew about the Asus, but I was thinking it was an A7V8X-VM. Of course the 'V' in the middle of the model means Via (I think?) so it's not nForce. Awesome to see that it's an 'N' board though! Too bad it's just a GF4 MX and not a Ti4200 or better :(

vasanth
06-23-2003, 12:26 AM
i would prefer the nForce chipset to VIA's

TravisS
06-23-2003, 12:48 AM
But of course, who wouldn't?