PDA

View Full Version : Uh oh, another newbie...

TFOV
10-27-2001, 07:56 PM
Whats up, I'm the new guy. On my very first post here as a cprogramming.com member/user/whatever, I would like to ask to whom it may concern what is a good book to learn alot of stuff about Windows 2000. Or XP pro, heck, or both. I'm currently majoring in Software Engineering and I have alot of time on my hands, so I wanna learn some OS's while I'm not programming and playing videogames :)

I've checked many of the thousands offered at amazon.com and I found two that seemed interesting. But since I've noticed that most of you intelligent folk here at cprogramming.com have had some interesting discussions about it, i figured I'd ask you.

Thanks in advance, and Devil May Cry rules :D

oskilian
10-27-2001, 08:03 PM
Now, the real question is: "Do people need a book to learn to use Windows?"

Oskilian

Fordy
10-27-2001, 08:09 PM
I've got "Windows 2000 - the complete reference" from Osbourne (McGraw Hill). Its a big old book and covers some indepth stuff like Active Dir.....

Though I must admit that its on my shelf under "Will read when I've got time". I just have so many other things I am playing with at the moment. OS setup/administration is on the backburner.

Actually its sat there next to a similar book called "Linux - the complete reference"

Oh for more time in the day......

TFOV
10-27-2001, 08:11 PM
Ummm, yeah I think so. I want to do some network adminstrating type of stuff(after I learn how)and programming. I'm pretty sure one or two of you on this site had to consult a reference about Win2k or XP due to a "WTF!" moment. Have you, Oskilian?

Fordy
10-27-2001, 08:15 PM
Once you are happy with the admin stuff....

For programming;

Programming Windows - Charles Petzold

Windows Programming from the ground up - Herb Schildt.....

Aran
10-27-2001, 08:18 PM
i've gotta get a windows programming book.... yum, windows...

Null Shinji
10-27-2001, 08:24 PM
Originally posted by TFOV