PDA

View Full Version : msvc translation unit



Stoned_Coder
05-13-2003, 12:20 PM
Is there a switch on msvc6 and/or msvc.net that will allow me to see the translation unit. Im having to debug macro intensive code and i want to see what the compiler sees after preprocessing. Does msvc allow this?

nvoigt
05-13-2003, 10:26 PM
In MSVC.NET ( aka 7 ) or 2003 ( aka 8 ) you have a switch somewhere in the options that saves the preprocessed files as .i files before compiling... but I don't have my version on this PC, I'll have a look later at work.

Brighteyes
05-13-2003, 10:39 PM
The flag is /P. It saves the translation unit as a .i file with the same name as the source file.

nvoigt
05-14-2003, 05:31 AM
Project Properties -> C++ -> Preprocessor -> Generate Preprocessed File -> Yes