PDA

View Full Version : How do i cap the bandwidth available to my PC?



Clyde
05-02-2003, 01:10 PM
Presumeably there is some way of doing this.

Would it be hard to write a windows prog. that dynamically alters the max bandwidth useable?

RoD
05-02-2003, 01:52 PM
most of the network management programs allow bandwidth control

http://download.com.com/3120-20-0.html?qt=bandwidth+management&tg=dl-2001

Clyde
05-03-2003, 04:38 AM
I see lots of bandwidth monitoring but not much actual capping.

But what i really want is to program my own, will bandwidth capping be covered in books about windows networking?

RoD
05-03-2003, 02:40 PM
I would assume that it may be but indirectly. The books possibly contain the content you need to figure it out, but probably dont tell you too much detail about how to write the program. It would most likely give u the idea, theory, and execution of bandwidth management or bandwidth in general.

Clyde
05-03-2003, 03:57 PM
Ok, guess that's where i'll look then, thanks for the input. =)