PDA

View Full Version : question to digipen folk and graduate courses

Silvercord
04-04-2003, 01:06 PM
If I get accepted to Digipen, can I still get accepted to other schools if I want to get a masters in something else when I'm done with DP (assuming I'd be getting a bachelors in RTIS)

Also, would I get turned down from 'regular' software jobs if I got a degree from digipen?

dP munky
04-04-2003, 03:38 PM
yes! you can still get accepted to other schools, i applied to 3 schools and was accepted by 3 schools(digipen, purdue, itt tech) i just chose digipen

>>if I want to get a masters in something else when I'm done with DP

you can. claude comair(founder of digipen) wants to get a masters degree in rtis to go along w/the 2 and 4 year programs...already digipen offers the 2 and 4 year rtis, a 2 year in art/animation, and if you do the 4 year rtis you can get a minor in mathamatics

but if you want to go to another school...that wont be a problem either, actually depending on where you go, you might only have to go for a year to get your masters, digipen puts 5 years of credits into 4

>>Also, would I get turned down from 'regular' software jobs if I got a degree from digipen?

no! digipen's whole philosophy is, "we arent going to teach you direct x, we're going to show you how to write your own".......

yes games, and game programming is the main focus, but it is a computer science degree(more or less) so finding a job afterwards(gaming or 'regular') wont be a difficult task. a lot of people here(myself included) either cant afford or just plain dont want the 4 year degree and those guys arent having any problems finding work