PDA

View Full Version : I need a math genious

Pages : [1] 2

RoD
03-16-2003, 04:50 PM
Ok im not good with math, but a stunt i am thinking of attempting requires alot of it. I need to find out variables such as:

How fast do i need to go?

How high must the jump be?

At what angle must the jump be?

Angle of the landing ramp?

Distance between the two?

How far off the jump (into the air) must i be?

How long do i have?

And so on. Heres the idea. I am going to backflip my four wheeler, i'm dead serious. Before i can build the jump or begin to train, i need to figure these things out.

What i know is the weight of the bike, the weight of me, etc. I dont know what the wind will be, lets assume it calm for now. Can anyone aid me in the math?

rod_is_an_idiot
03-16-2003, 04:56 PM
you don't need a math genius, you need someone to teach you logical thinking!

RoD
03-16-2003, 04:59 PM
I've heard it. My parents, my girl, my best friends...i been saying i wanted to do this (its never been done successfully) since i started to ride (when i was 4)...its time to do it. I really need help with the math, though.

Xei
03-16-2003, 05:16 PM
You can use basic Momentum & Energy formulas to determine what slope you should use, and including a minimum velocity.The slope of the downward jump(the one you land on) should not be very steep and should be quite long. Otherwise just use common sense, and remember that you do have to keep your speed relatively fast so that you get high enough to do your flip and stay in control. Other than that, I recommend life insurance, a good helmet, and back-protector (I think Dainese makes them?). Good luck.

RoD
03-16-2003, 05:31 PM
Bike specs:

http://www.offroadhaven.com/yamaha_blaster_for__1999.htm

I weigh 156lbs, for the record.

Well i wear a helmet, jersey, pants, gloves, goggles, boots, and a kidney/chest protector at all times. So im not totally moronic. My girlfriend is on the Millville Rescue Squad so there will be a med team on site.