PDA

View Full Version : Completely modular motherboards?



SMurf
02-23-2003, 09:52 AM
Hello,

Does anyone know if the concept of a completely modular motherboard would be possible? By "completely modular" I mean everything, including the BIOS, chipset, etc. be mounted on sockets so that they could be easily replaced with better versions over time. The only obstacle to this idea would be that different chipsets use different channel layouts, but if a standard for chipsets was devised, wouldn't it work then?

The reason I'm saying this is that the secondary IDE controller on my motherboard is giving me gyp and I really wish I could just pull the chip off and the board would still work... :p

adrianxw
02-23-2003, 09:55 AM
I suspect the difficulties of producing such a board would outweigh any advantages.

>>> secondary IDE controller on my motherboard is giving me gyp

You could always add an IDE controller card if you have a free slot.

golfinguy4
02-23-2003, 10:25 AM
While on the topic...

Warning to everyone... When plugging the power back into the motherboard, make sure you pay attention and put them in the right order, not upside down ;). If not, hello "fried motherboard and power supply" :(. That's what I get for doing it at like 1:30 though.

Travis Dane
02-23-2003, 10:26 AM
If im not mistaken the power plugs have a lip making sure it
isn't put on upside down?

RoD
02-23-2003, 10:30 AM
Originally posted by Travis Dane
If im not mistaken the power plugs have a lip making sure it
isn't put on upside down?

Not all of them, i've done it before too.

golfinguy4
02-23-2003, 10:31 AM
Nah, there was only a lip on one side and a clip on the plugs on the other. Hence, putting the top one on the bottom and the bottom one on the top was quite easy (unfortunately).

Oh well, the bright side is I just got a new comp.

Travis Dane
02-23-2003, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by RoD
Not all of them, i've done it before too.

Then you have an old motherboard.

golfinguy4
02-23-2003, 10:34 AM
Originally posted by Travis Dane
Then you have an old motherboard.

Yeah, a 6 year old fried motherboard.

RoD
02-23-2003, 10:35 AM
yea it was a p2 i fried, never said it was new :p

adrianxw
02-23-2003, 11:17 AM
>>> where individual parts can be enabled or disabled

Yeah, but I doubt you'd be able to disable the Northbridge for example so you could add a different one.

valar_king
02-23-2003, 12:56 PM
Also, never use a Dell power supply on a new motherboard.
Ack.
:rolleyes: