PDA

View Full Version : Paging File.......



incognito
02-21-2003, 01:45 PM
Would it really hurt my computer if I put too much paging file? Is there such a thing as too much paging file? Let's say you have a 30 GIG HD running on a 800 mhz PIII (yes I know, but come on I bought it about 2.5 years ago), and I wanted to put a paging file of 500 or something would this hurt the computer?

Magos
02-21-2003, 01:59 PM
Originally posted by elchulo2002
Let's say you have a 30 GIG HD running on a 800 mhz PIII (yes I know, but come on I bought it about 2.5 years ago)
So what? I'm running on a P3 500 :p (though I'll be upgrading soon)

Sorry, I don't know what a paging file is, but if you mean a file with 500 pages (document) or a 500 Mb file I'm sure it doesn't harm the computer...

EDIT: ok, I looked up what a paging file is now. I see no reason why it would harm the computer (harm as in damage).

RoD
02-21-2003, 02:03 PM
i wouldnt go much higher than that but u can, how much ram?

also till last week i was on a p3500mhz also

Fordy
02-21-2003, 02:03 PM
I usually set mine to cover twice the amount of physical ram I have..

Magos - Its the file the system uses to swap pages of memory out of RAM to disk when its not being used.......hence virtual memory and the illusion that you are using more memory than you physically have

incognito
02-21-2003, 02:07 PM
Have 128 but I've put 500 on mine
what do you think?

RoD
02-21-2003, 02:11 PM
not needed, more like 300

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 02:17 PM
You should set it about twice you ram amount, Though it woulnd't
harm if you've set more.

golfinguy4
02-21-2003, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Fordy
I usually set mine to cover twice the amount of physical ram I have..


That's the rule I've seen almost everywhere.

Sang-drax
02-21-2003, 03:28 PM
I have 512 MB RAM.

Since I never allocate more than 512 MB according to the task manager, I get a performance boost by disabling the page file, forcing Windows to keep all data in RAM, instead of auto-swapping seldom-used data to the disk.

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 03:33 PM
Doesn't it only use page memory as soon as the RAM starts
to run out of available memory?

RoD
02-21-2003, 03:34 PM
Thats a little risky, as i think windows will "dump" if u happen to exceed 512...

RoD
02-21-2003, 03:34 PM
Originally posted by Travis Dane
Doesn't it only use page memory as soon as the RAM starts
to run out of available memory?

Yes.

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 03:41 PM
Originally posted by RoD
Thats a little risky, as i think windows will "dump" if u happen to exceed 512...

It will dump useless crap, That's what it's gonna dump! Like pr0n.

RoD
02-21-2003, 03:44 PM
maybe nt is different, if memory serves me windows 98 will crash if it has no pagefile and uses all the physical.

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 03:47 PM
Originally posted by RoD
if it has no pagefile and uses all the physical.

Wich is very rare! If you're memory is full windows reports that
and refuses programs to take anymore memory.

RoD
02-21-2003, 03:50 PM
new programs maybe, but whats to say a currently running process cant suddenly spike?

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by RoD
new programs maybe, but whats to say a currently running process cant suddenly spike?

Spike? Listen, Do you have any idea how incredible much 512MB
of ram is??? You aren't going to use it up in a million years.
Offcourse it's possible to do so, But then you would just be
fooling around with creating a new int in a for loop 100000000
times:p

RoD
02-21-2003, 03:55 PM
even still, i mean spike as in suddenly shooting from say 2mb to 20mb....theoretically.

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by RoD
even still, i mean spike as in suddenly shooting from say 2mb to 20mb....theoretically.

Aah, Why am i trying;) Memory management was implented
already in Win95 pall.

RoD
02-21-2003, 04:03 PM
settles that :P

nvoigt
02-21-2003, 04:12 PM
Listen, Do you have any idea how incredible much 512MB
of ram is???


Not enough to run a decent program through a profiler/bounds checker ?

Travis Dane
02-21-2003, 04:40 PM
Originally posted by nvoigt
Not enough to run a decent program through a profiler/bounds checker ?

What do you mean?

nvoigt
02-22-2003, 02:30 AM
I mean that 512 MB of RAM is not enough to work with if you do more than just homework assignments.

adrianxw
02-22-2003, 03:53 AM
>>> if you do more than just homework assignments.

This is the real point. The answer is it depends what you are doing, but you won't harm your machine by having a larger than necessary page file.

Each process, (on a modern Win32 system), has a 4GB virtual address space that it can use, thus it is possible that a single app may use (4GB - Physical RAM size - System RAM use - some other minor considerations) by itself.

If you are running simple programs, then the chances are the system may run without using a page file at all. If you are doing finite element analysis or surface flow modelling of complex three dimensional figures, you'll be eating memory like a slavering beast, and then still run out working out, in the process, that you really should be using a professional workstation and not a PC.