PDA

View Full Version : One lucky person...



RoD
02-12-2003, 07:23 PM
get to buy me this :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

http://www.econopc.com/applications/search/itemdetails.asp?sku=MCECP4X306&sc=pr

face_master
02-12-2003, 11:28 PM
bastardo!

ober
02-13-2003, 07:10 AM
seems like a ripoff... why go top-end anymore when you can drop a half GHz, still have the computer do what you want and pay half the price?

ammar
02-13-2003, 07:16 AM
Oh yeah, I'm sending you the money right now!
What is your account number?

RoD
02-13-2003, 07:57 PM
I999-245-WISH-67436-YOU-3935-WERE-000-SERIOUS21

Shadow
02-13-2003, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by ober5861
seems like a ripoff... why go top-end anymore when you can drop a half GHz, still have the computer do what you want and pay half the price? I wish they made 4ghz cpus. Primal Rage, Cruis'N, and Killer Instinct arcade versions through MAME require a 4ghz cpu for 100% accurate gameplay. Killer Instinct will probably require more when a 4ghz chip comes out(testing, etc.).

For 3 whole games though, I'll wait around till the price drops down a bit. :p

Yawgmoth
02-13-2003, 08:12 PM
How could an arcade game need 4Ghz?! I don't know exactly how old it is, but I think Cruisn' was available on the N64, about 4-7 years ago. Does MAME really need that much processing power (and why?)?

Shadow
02-13-2003, 08:16 PM
Those are the only games which require that much power. Mortal Kombat 2, 3 or ultimate 3 need 1ghz...street fighter the movie, area 51, stun runner, and galaxy fight might need bare minimum amd 2000+ ...but I can run all of these games fine on my amd 2000+ although area 51 does frame dip a tad every now and then.

MAME is 99% accurate. It puts everything on your CPU - not your fancy Geforce 99 million, or OpenGL/DirectX 5.9999999, Quad CPU motherboard etc. If you had a dual 1ghz motherboard, mame would only see 1 1ghz chip. No shortcuts for mame. Accuracy all the way.

Remember though, playing the games is just a nice side effect - it's a preservation project. Arcade boards die, games(hopefully) last much longer.

civix
02-13-2003, 08:29 PM
Gah, im buying one. Like it or not, i'll be able to hang it over all of your heads and say "naa-naa-naa-naa-naa-naa" until some other bastard decides to buy one... Then i'll buy a bigger one. :p :D

RoD
02-13-2003, 08:31 PM
wish i could afford one *sigh*

Shadow
02-13-2003, 08:34 PM
> *sigh*
PEWWW, don't do that here......:D j/k


Originally posted by RoD
wish i could afford one *sigh* Likewise..

Travis Dane
02-14-2003, 09:30 AM
700$ for a 3ghz cpu???:eek: :eek:
Madness! You won't notice the change in games between 2.5 or
3.0, and if you're planning to go render heavy things you're
better off with a dual system.

RoD
02-14-2003, 09:32 AM
i considerd dual 1.7 t-birds back in the day, finally settled on P4 1.8ghz ...putting it togather today if i can get my buds digital camera so i can take before and afters :P

Travis Dane
02-14-2003, 09:33 AM
A dual p4 1.8? Sweet....

RoD
02-14-2003, 09:35 AM
i wish :P i meant i wanted dual settled on single.

Travis Dane
02-14-2003, 09:39 AM
Too bad, Low P4 are excellent overclockers though...;)

RoD
02-14-2003, 12:49 PM
according to everything i have read my mobo/chip combo will run smooth at 2.0 with the fan setup i have.

dP munky
02-14-2003, 03:52 PM
www.pricewatch.com , i havent looked but they have good stuff cheap

RoD
02-14-2003, 04:18 PM
They want: 167.21
I paid: 13.00