PDA

View Full Version : Screenshot: Linux / NT integration....



damonbrinkley
01-09-2003, 01:45 PM
Here's my new Linux and NT integrated desktop. The best of both worlds.

:D

ober
01-09-2003, 02:42 PM
why you would want to run NT on a home machine is beyond me...

damonbrinkley
01-09-2003, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by ober5861
why you would want to run NT on a home machine is beyond me...

It's not a home machine....

drdroid
01-09-2003, 03:20 PM
Wow!!! That's gott'a one hell of a stable workstation... 1 gig o ram and Windows NT. You must have a very nice workplace.

damonbrinkley
01-09-2003, 03:24 PM
Originally posted by drdroid
Wow!!! That's gott'a one hell of a stable workstation... 1 gig o ram and Windows NT. You must have a very nice workplace.

hehe.....actually that's our server that runs NT with a gig of RAM and it's quite unstable at times :)

Anyone guess how I did this??

-KEN-
01-09-2003, 03:45 PM
Cygwin or some other emulator, perhaps? Maybe the program was just ported.

Running one GNOME app doesn't make your workstation "integrated", dude :)

damonbrinkley
01-09-2003, 04:02 PM
It's the other way around.....it's NT on Linux.


:) It's nothing big. That's just a NT Server Desktop via Citrix Metaframe using Citrix's Linux client. I just thought it was kind of neat looking.......

dpmunky
01-09-2003, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by damonbrinkley
Anyone guess how I did this??

ms paint? that would be rather simple

maes
01-09-2003, 04:13 PM
A friend of mine showed me running windows XP (I think it ws XP, don't really remember) in a window in Linux. Don't know how he did it, but he started winXP after he booted under linux and it showed in a small window

minesweeper
01-09-2003, 04:15 PM
A friend of mine showed me running windows XP (I think it ws XP, don't really remember) in a window in Linux. Don't know how he did it, but he started winXP after he booted under linux and it showed in a small window

I reckon he was pulling your plonker.

SilentStrike
01-09-2003, 04:21 PM
"I reckon he was pulling your plonker."

I reckon he was running VMware.

http://www.vmware.com/

But this screenshot is different, it seems the GNOME and windows desktops are integrated. I have no clue how it's being done.

foniks munkee
01-09-2003, 06:20 PM
Here is another one: www.winehq.com (http://www.winehq.com/)

Mind you - Mac machines have had access to virtual PC's that run windows for quite some time now, and they are pretty reliable (if a little expensive).