PDA

View Full Version : VS .NET & XP Pro Question



hk_mp5kpdw
01-08-2003, 09:56 AM
A couple months ago I got a new computer with XP Pro installed on it. Every time I turned on the computer, it simply loads up right to the desktop. A week ago, I installed Visual Studio .NET on it and now it always boots up partially to a screen that wants me to select the user I am logging in as. I can easily just pick my name from the list since I am the only person I have set up to use the computer and then continue booting to the desktop, but I want to know why this bootup sequence has been over-ridden by simply installing .NET. Nothing else was installed on the computer in between the periods where the boot sequence changed. Anybody have any ideas? Can I safely change some settings to get it back the way it was?

I also had previously installed the MSVC++ 6.0 compiler on the machine as well. In this, I can type a name of any class/template variable that I have instantiated and once I press the '.' key to start typing a member function name, a little window pops up with all the different member variables/function within that class that I can choose from. I think this is called autocomplete (?). I like this feature and it seems to be enabled by default when you install MSVC++ 6.0. I would like to know if this is available under .NET and how I would go about enabling it since I have not been able to figure out how to turn it on. This feature seems to be disabled/unavailable under .NET.

ober
01-08-2003, 12:28 PM
maybe a thread for the tech board... but nonetheless..

you should be able to go to your control panel under users and change how it logs in... I would imagine that somehow .NET installed some sort of ... i don't know... user information that required the creation of a new account? Is there more than one login option? If there is, just disable the other accounts and it should have only one to choose from, yours, and it will log in for you.

Not sure about the second part... I don't have .NET here at work so I can't check it out for you.

hk_mp5kpdw
01-08-2003, 12:32 PM
Thanks for the reply. In answer to your question, there is only one "user" to choose from when it gets to that point. It seems stupid that it would ask to choose from amongst a list that only has one possible option.

ober
01-08-2003, 12:49 PM
are you the administrator? (I mean, is your account setup so that you are)

hk_mp5kpdw
01-08-2003, 01:07 PM
When I first turned the computer on and it took me through the setup questions, I remember it asking me something about who was going to be the administrator and to please supply a password for that. I typed in my name and a password. It then asked me to supply a list of users of the system and I typed in my name again as the only one. And that's it as far as users. Before the install, when I turned the computer on, it would take about 15-20 seconds to boot and it would take me directly to the desktop. Now it pauses at a screen and asks which user I would like to log in as and it only lists that one user (myself).

I noticed that it did do this once prior to the install of .NET where I had left the computer on and left the room for a couple hours. When I returned the computer was completely off, it was dead cold, no response to key presses on the keyboard or from mouse movement which I thought might wake it up from some sleepmode. I thought to myself "I didn't turn the computer off." I pressed the power button and turned the computer back on and after 10-15 seconds it brought me back to this screen asking me which user I would like to log in as. I selected the one name available and it then brought me to the desktop. I'm guessing in this instance that it was some type of logoff/powersave feature.