View Full Version : Anybody know this guy?

01-02-2003, 11:50 PM
There's this guy who I keep getting mail from. (ullmann@nelsonbay.com) First he sent me this 45k attatchment called <something>.scr and I knew not to download it. In the message he bragged about this great screen saver. I got similar emails like 4 times but he changed the filename, but its size was the same. Now I just got another, different filename but same size (45k) but now it is called "hotmail_hack.exe" and in the message he says its used to get your friend's email passwords. Its really annoying cause I cant bloack him; my block list is full!

Anybody else get email from this guy?

01-03-2003, 12:00 AM
After my block list was full, I just deleted some, I think they stop sending after a while.

What you can do is set it to exclusive, but you have to make a list of all of the people you want, whose emails will go directly to the inbox, the rest is filtered to the junk mail.

I recieved an email with a .scr file the other day too, from someone else. I read its a new virus going around.

01-03-2003, 01:21 AM
It may be this (http://vil.mcafee.com/dispVirus.asp?virus_k=99918) or any other virus. The guy is probably not aware he is sending infected mails. Send him a mail. If he does not respond or gets insulting, send a mail to his providers abuse department ( normaly abuse@...com ).

01-03-2003, 01:38 AM
nah its not that, that one's only around 33k and the email subjects and filenamesa are different

01-03-2003, 01:43 AM
Perhaps it is a new variant, Yaha.k is becoming a serious problem.

01-03-2003, 01:51 AM
Don't worry too much about it, he's probably just attaching the file to have your advice.

01-03-2003, 02:40 AM
I just got an e-mail in my "junk mail" in hotmail, and here is what it says:

Hey pal,
you know friendship is like a business...
to get something you need to give something..
though its not that harsh as business but to
get love and care from your friends you need to give
love,care and respect to your friends.. right {BR>
check the attached screensaver and you will learn how to
make your friends happy.

with the attachment of friend_happy.scr

the sender is "unknown"

Hmm lets download it and see what it does:rolleyes:

01-03-2003, 02:42 AM
whats the filesize?? 45k?

01-03-2003, 03:24 AM
yup, 45k

01-03-2003, 07:31 AM
Mu friend got the same e-mail, with an attachment about 45k, but he was VERY SMART, and he opened it, and ofcourse it's a virus, and I think it's a dangerous one...

01-03-2003, 07:35 AM
When I first got the email and saw that it was .scr, there was no way I was going to open it.

01-03-2003, 07:39 AM
As I told you, my friend is very smart, that's why he opened the attachment... I think that this type of e-mails are not problem, since you can just delete them, or block them...

01-03-2003, 08:11 AM
LOL! My friend just told me over MSN that he opened it and now he needs to format. I laughed at him.

01-03-2003, 09:35 AM
that's not as good as that fake virus, the one where they were telling people to delete some of the java debug programs from the windows directory, you know, the one with the teddy bear icon? People actually thought it had gotten by norton, etc. I had to try my hardest to convince my friends they shouldn't listen to moronic people who start these things, and just continue it by forwarding them blindly. I had to email that program to at least 20 people since they deleted theirs. I tell ya, kids these days.

no i don't know him personally but i have gotten emails from him before. What I love is that in the preview pane (which i now have turned off cause of safety) is that on some virii or worm filled emails you won't get text, instead you'll get some weird wingdings crap. Hmmmmm, I'm almost positive that's a perfectly normal and safe email....:rolleyes:

01-03-2003, 01:02 PM
waldo just mentioned what i wanted to post in case some ppl don't know. If you use OE you MUST disable the auto-message read pane thing, cuz some virus's execute on that panes opening it, which is auto when u click a email.

01-03-2003, 01:35 PM
I got an email similar to that with a 45K scr attached, submitted it to Symantec, and it turned out to be a variant of Yaha.