PDA

View Full Version : All of you employed developers, what are your jobs really like?

Shadow12345
12-23-2002, 04:55 PM
If you are an employed developer I would like to know what your day as a developer is really like. Here I am a programmer hobbyist, but I don't even know if I want to become a software developer.

If you do reply to this post could you also send a url for the company you work for?

The more details the better. I'm thinking about not taking computer science in college, rather electrical or mechanical engineering, thus not becoming a software developer.

Thanks if you reply.

Waldo2k2
12-23-2002, 05:43 PM
I work @ The Baker Group (www.bakergroupinc.com) as an electrician (also plan on getting into elec eng:)). Over the summer i did some programming in C++ for about 3 months, i made a few console apps, one of which searched and parsed text files which were programs for running machines (the CNC machines spoken of in the web page), allowing the operator to find and reuse previously ran programs. Currently I do some programming on Allen Bradley (www.ab.com) microcontrollers which we use to run our machines.

I get to the the microcontroller programming at home. When I programmed in the summer here was my basic day: wear whatever i want, go to work, sit in front of the computer, get at least 3 sodas ready, start programming, go to subway for lunch, come back and program some more, BS with the coworkers, sometime after 5 go home.
It all depends on how professional the company is, or at least, how professional they want you to be.

Prelude
12-23-2002, 08:40 PM
>I would like to know what your day as a developer is really like.
Hardly as spectacular as everyone seems to think it is. I go to work, chat with my co-workers until something interesting happens like a system crash and then we work furiously to fix it. I spend most of my time either maintaining the systems (tweaking), training fresh programmers and interns, or interviewing the odd applicant.