PDA

View Full Version : Annoying Posts

Staz
12-05-2002, 09:45 PM
I hope I am not over stepping what most of you think is alright but…

I am not an excellent programmer but I have done a little bit and I do browse the cboard occasionally. I probably could help with more questions/topics than I do but lately I have been noticing quite a few topics/questions with broad unrelated subjects such as: “little problem”, “Why won’t this work?”, “program question” or “can’t figure it out”. When I see a topic with a subject like this I don’t even bother to open it because I have no idea if I will be able to assist or even be interested.

I was just wondering if anyone else had the same opinion.

Have a nice day…

Waldo2k2
12-05-2002, 10:03 PM
Yeah, this same complaint is in the board rules...along with a little thing about dumb threads....

Eibro
12-05-2002, 10:28 PM
... and one-liner posts.
This post is now TWO lines long.

master5001
12-06-2002, 02:37 AM
My main driving force to look at a thread is the number of responses it has received. The fewer, the more likely I am to look at it (like this one). This post has nothing to do with programming and isn't even a question. It is also something addressed in the rules of the board. This looks like general discussion board material to me.

master5001
12-06-2002, 03:11 AM
Good point Salem. Next time I have a complicated question I'll put no thought into a topic just to mix things up a bit.

foniks munkee
12-06-2002, 03:46 AM
I have to wonder if there is a deeper psychology behind some of those questions though.. I mean it is perfectly OK to ask for help for the simplest of problems, because EVERYONE has to start somewhere.

But if one can't be bothered to read the FAQ and the rules of conduct look as though they are written in MD5.. then perhaps there is a more fundamental reason behind the lack of comprehension.

Sang-drax
12-06-2002, 03:50 AM
If you want only advanced topics, visit the newsgroup
comp.lang.std.c++