PDA

View Full Version : Got Network?



RoD
11-20-2002, 03:53 PM
Please, allow me to rant.

As i sat in the library today, a sophmore english class came in to research for a paper they were doing. This didn't really attract my attention, as this isn't very uncommon. Well it just so happend today that the internet was down, due to server complications(funny story heh), but that the network was still operational and the students could use the directory to find the books they needed, as the library has all of our books, or the majority rather, in e-book form right on the pcs, as well as the card catalog. See a few years ago, back when i was a sophmore, our computer science department designed a cheap-o program to replace the physical card catalog.

Anyway, about five minutes later i hear a bunch of "what the hell's" and "hey" from the class's direction. Naturally i looked up, to see about 25 blank screens.

Uh oh.

These first two words came quickly to mind, as i am a assistant to the network admin i have seen these situations too often, and i knew what it was. Sure enough i was right, some kid popped the power strip thats by the wall, under a table, about 20 feet away from where he should have been.

Any how i stroll on over, simple reboot no biggy. WRONG. O, so, so wrong. My school runs its network by placing 40 port hubs in the major rooms, guidence, library, lab, etc, with a few patch panels and such in the basement that re-route up to our server room, which consists of several file servers, a few management servers, and the net server. Back on topic, the 40 port hub in the library runs off the power strip that runs off the power strip this kid flipped.

Yea i know, i didn't design it ok.

Well genious here, who is insisting to me he "didn't do it" blew the damn hub. Literally, the contacts are BLACK. I'll try and get a pic tommorow. Anyway moving on...So now i go take a quick run to the parts room and grab a five port intel hub, just to get a few computers up so that the library breaths some life.

I get back....god i am so ........ed i even have to say this.....teachers are so ****ing incompetent. Sorry for the language, they LET a few "i know more then the guy who went for the hub" students "fix" the porblem.

OMG......

So i get back and theres a group of 15/16 year olds standing round on pc, the kid sitting there bragging bout how hes "in the server". Great more fun to deal with, a "hacker". So i ask him what hes trying to do, and he claims to be "hacking my system." O yea i say to him, thats pretty sweet how you hacked a system your not even connected too. O yea he says to me, i'm using the web servers ip to get to my pc at home.

Cool man, the web servers not on dickhead. Your computer aint on the network, and that screen your looking at is the windows registry, now get out of my chair.

So after some laughs from his "followers" i start hooking up the hub. "Thats not the problem idiot." Hmm, wonder who that was...o great, hacker kid. "Well then what is the problem, i'm DYING to hear this" i said. Well when he said "you curropted linux when u kicked me off, i wasn't done installing it" i looked at him with a very, very nice WTF??! look, then told the teacher to get rid of him.

Good back to work, i get the hub hooked up, get five pcs networked, good i'm done.

Bottom lines:

- Don't count on the fact that because your power strip is away from where a student is allowed to be, that he won't hit it.

- Don't allow your aggravation to build because of a "server hacking, non-networked, linux thinks hes installing dip**** 15 year old.".

- Let the admin do his job, your only his helper, they're his problem.

jdinger
11-20-2002, 04:53 PM
oh, man! I feel for you, RoD!! :D

take the night off and enjoy a nice cold moutain dew. you deserve it! :)

dP munky
11-20-2002, 05:01 PM
LMAO, i agree, after that, take the night off :cool:

RoD
11-20-2002, 05:03 PM
well i would but....

well i should get back to fixing my buds pc now...

i'm too nice.

Cshot
11-20-2002, 05:07 PM
I think that linux hacker kid knew what he was doing :)

You should've stepped aside and watch him work his "magic"

RoD
11-20-2002, 05:49 PM
don't got enough patience cshot lol, that and i was already pretty annoyed at that point.

Well i need to replace my buddies ide cables, sound card, processor h-sink + fan, install windows, setup for network, and place the backups on it..

on second thought, i'm off tonight.

golfinguy4
11-20-2002, 06:32 PM
RoD, how's XP Enterprise different than XP Pro?

Waldo2k2
11-20-2002, 07:25 PM
ROD
what's the name of the school? I run into that crap all the time at good ol hiawatha...cept i never have the pleasure of dealing with smart alecs who think they're working through a network that doesn't exist :)
The most fun i have is dealing with guys who charge $7k to install zendworks on our novell networks...they seriously know squat.

RoD
11-21-2002, 05:11 AM
Originally posted by golfinguy4
RoD, how's XP Enterprise different than XP Pro?

Open license, no restriction, more customization, more options, etc. Theres about as much difference between xp enterprise and xp pro as there is between windows xp and say linux.

>>whats the school?

Millville Senior High, NJ

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 07:54 AM
There's no such thing as XP Enterprise....only Pro and Home. Your school may have the open license agreement for corporations but there isn't an XP enterprise.

RoD
11-21-2002, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by damonbrinkley
There's no such thing as XP Enterprise....only Pro and Home. Your school may have the open license agreement for corporations but there isn't an XP enterprise.

Wrong. I'm not laying this out AGAIN, dig up one of the recent threads where me and cgawd explain it, please, and save me the time. There is a such thing as Enterprise, i have it, and it has nothing to do with my school.

There are four versions of XP, that i know of there may be more :P:

Xp Home
Xp Pro
Xp Enterprise
Xp Corporate

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 02:41 PM
Show me a link on Microsoft's website proving this and I'll believe you, until then I call BS.

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 02:50 PM
Per Microsoft's website:

Windows XP editions include:

Professional
Home
Media Center
Tablet PC
64-bit


I've searched Google for anything pertaining to XP Enterprise edition and there's nothing. How about a screenshot RoD?

RoD
11-21-2002, 03:01 PM
Windows Enterprise edition is a extension off of the corporate version of xp. It contains no restrictions and has a nice price tag of 10,000.00.

The point of this thread is not the way its going, research harder, if u can't find it its not my problem. Not trying to sound like a dick, but i did state i wasn't getting into it.

here have a desktop on the house:

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 03:07 PM
That's funny. I've never heard of it and I work in the industry making decisions for my company.

That desktop looks like a plain old XP desktop to me, where's the proof it's this infamous Enterprise edition that costs 10K? You're completely full of ****.

Research harder? For what? Something that doesn't exist? If Microsoft had an extension to XP then it would be advertised on their site and guess what...it's not.

If you're not BSing, where'd you come up with 10K for that?

RoD
11-21-2002, 03:10 PM
i told you, dig up one of the old topics, i'm not going over this again. Get your own damn proof.

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 03:13 PM
You're an idiot. The only thing the Enterprise version is is a version without product activation for corporations and it doesn't cost 10K per copy. You've obviously pirated it.

Eibro
11-21-2002, 03:16 PM
I'm not taking sides, but lets see the facts:

Searched the web for "Windows XP Enterprise Edition".
Results 1 - 5 of about 6. Search took 0.10 seconds


Searched the web for "Windows XP Professional Edition".
Results 1 - 10 of about 13,500. Search took 0.10 seconds.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/howtobuy/pricingvolume.asp

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 03:22 PM
The only Enterprise Edition is XP Professional with Enterprise Licensing which disables the product activation so corps call roll out multiple systems without having to activate all of them.

RoD
11-21-2002, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by damonbrinkley
You're an idiot. The only thing the Enterprise version is is a version without product activation for corporations and it doesn't cost 10K per copy. You've obviously pirated it.

That right there tells me that you, my friend, are the idiot who didn't read any of the old topics. There is a version of xp which has no restrictions on anything, as well as additional features, and costs 10k. I don't have to pirate it ******* my copy is 100% legit.

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 03:33 PM
Sure you do, and sure you paid 10K to buy it as an assistant network admin.

What restrictions are lifted? What additional features? How about a screenshot that shows it as Enterprise Edition?

damonbrinkley
11-21-2002, 03:44 PM
I found the thread you're talking about and it just solidifies that all you have is the XP Professional version with Enterprise licensing and it doesn't cost 10K. The site licensing costs a variable amount depending on how many clients the company is installing it on. You haven't a clue.