PDA

View Full Version : Clickie mangling?



Imperito
11-13-2002, 11:44 PM
This is getting weird. Does anyone know if vBulletin does any mangling of clickies?

I'm trying to post a link to a map on mapquest, that I have seen posted to other sites and it worked, but when I post here the link resolves to a generic map of the US.

I post, copy and paste the clickie, preview, and it goes to the wrong page. Copied and pasted right from the source of another link, and still goes to the wrong map.

Annoying.

Imperito
11-13-2002, 11:51 PM
OK, I tried another tack. I made the clickie, preview, shiftclick, and then copy and paste the address bar contents just below the original link, and compared them. vB is mangling the link somewhat substantially.

A second iteration is further mangled, it seems vB is adding about 60 characters with of junk to the text of the link each time,. which causes mapquest to simple resolve t a default map.

Imperito
11-13-2002, 11:54 PM
Viewed source on said links, and vB is actually inserting spaces and linebreaks, even if the URL is done in the [ URL=http://www.wherever.com]clicky[/url] format.

Grr. Bad vBulletin.

face_master
11-13-2002, 11:54 PM
What can you expect? It was made by Micrsoft. That explains it all. :D

Imperito
11-13-2002, 11:59 PM
Uh, no it wasn't. vBulletin is a product of Jelsoft Enterprises, a UK based company.

face_master
11-14-2002, 12:31 AM
vB was created by Microsoft